How to output 4K60?

Post Reply
river
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 24, 2021 2:40 pm
languages_spoken: Chinese
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

How to output 4K60?

Post by river »

Hi all:

(Odroid-C4/Android 9)
I'd like to know how to output 4K/60fps through HDMI?
2160p/30fps works fine, but no output with 2160p/60fps.

Thanks

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 37538
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1836 times
Been thanked: 1159 times
Contact:

Re: How to output 4K60?

Post by odroid »

We tested some LG and Samsung 4K/UHD TVs.
They worked fine at 4K/60FPS mode out of the box.

Which display devices have you tested?
Did you check the resolution and FPS via TV's OSD information?

river
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 24, 2021 2:40 pm
languages_spoken: Chinese
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: How to output 4K60?

Post by river »

It could be work now.
I think EDID is not updated automatically when I switch monitor_A to monitor_B
Here are the steps:
1. Connect to monitor_A(highest support resolution is 2160p/30fps), set the output resolution to 2160p/30fps
2. Switch to monitor_B(highest support resolution is 2160p/60fps), launch Odroid_settings app,
and we can see the support resolution is still 2160p/30fps (please check 01.png)
3. Set the display mode to 2160p/60fps and reboot (02.png)
4. No output on the monitor_B
5. Set the display mode to 2160p/30fps and reboot, there is output on the monitor_B
6. Set the display mode to 2160p/60fps and reboot, there is output on the monitor_B

Is there a way to update EDID automatically?
Attachments
01.PNG
01.PNG (68.42 KiB) Viewed 89 times
02.png
02.png (205.12 KiB) Viewed 89 times

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 37538
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1836 times
Been thanked: 1159 times
Contact:

Re: How to output 4K60?

Post by odroid »

As far as I know, the HDMI output configuration must be set in the kernel booting process on Android platform.
Therefore, you need to reboot the system once you switch the display devices.

BTW, you can force the display resolution/refresh-rate at 4K/60Hz by ignoring EDID.
In that case, your monitor_A will not show anything.

river
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 24, 2021 2:40 pm
languages_spoken: Chinese
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: How to output 4K60?

Post by river »

As you said
If I restart system after switching the display devices, I can set the resolution normally, 2160p/60fps can also be output normally
Thanks for you help

Post Reply

Return to “Android”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest