Mainline U-Boot into emmc boot0?

Post Reply
User avatar
joerg
Posts: 2005
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 209 times
Been thanked: 456 times
Contact:

Mainline U-Boot into emmc boot0?

Post by joerg »

Normaly I write U-Boot with this commands to emmc:

Code: Select all

sudo dd if=u-boot.bin.sd.bin of=$DEV conv=fsync,notrunc bs=512 skip=1 seek=1
sudo dd if=u-boot.bin.sd.bin of=$DEV conv=fsync,notrunc bs=1 count=444
But it destroys the primary GPT table!
Can U-Boot be flashed to different position like boot0?
As I understand, the above commands write 444 bytes to the very beginning of the flash and skips the first 512 bytes from flash and from binary to write the rest.
But where is the boot0 located?
And can I write the same binary in same manner to it?
Or do I have to use a different configuration for U-Boot?

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 12975
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 984 times
Been thanked: 2250 times
Contact:

Re: Mainline U-Boot into emmc boot0?

Post by tobetter »

Interesting question. Since I've managed U-Boot for M1S put into secure partition recently, I am also positive to use the same method for another boards but not yet with Amlogic versions. If my understanding of Amlogic's boot procedure is valid, I am not quite optimistic, worth to read the code again how to manage the image. As of now I coukd tell is the same image cannot be flashed to boot0 partition.
These users thanked the author tobetter for the post:
joerg (Thu Feb 08, 2024 6:38 am)

Post Reply

Return to “General Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest