ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Third party OS images and hardware mods
doomman117
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Post by doomman117 »

Update: Installed Gamestation Turbo. However its not seeing my full 128gb SD card. I flashed it after using RA, so it should be completely blank when I installed it.

sw1fty
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 8:50 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: oga
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Post by sw1fty »

Thanks so much for sharing this image. It looks really cool.
I am quite new to these things and have hit a problem. I've tried reading everything I can for the past few hours but I'm having no success.

I flashed the image to a 128gb card in win10. The small boot partition and a larger root partition has been created but over 100gb remains unallocated.
The root partition is only 3.6gb and I can't figure out how to expand it to be able to fit my roms on.

I would really appreciate it if somebody could offer me some advice. I realize it's probably an annoying noob question and I've tried to read up on this but just getting nowhere.

mad_ady
Posts: 8337
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 574 times
Been thanked: 439 times
Contact:

Re: ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Post by mad_ady »

It should automatically resize on first boot.

User avatar
meveric
Posts: 11124
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:41 pm
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U2, U3, XU-Lite, XU3, XU3-Lite, C1, XU4, C2, C1+, XU4Q, HC1, N1, Go, H2 (N4100), N2, H2 (J4105), GoA, C4
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 390 times
Contact:

Re: ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Post by meveric »

This image is different in many ways.
It does not use EmulationStation for example as a frontend.
Will it be 100% bug free? I highly doubt that's possible.
But I haven't seen any issues with saving or menu yet.
Donate to support my work on the ODROID GameStation Turbo Image for U2/U3 XU3/XU4 X2 X C1 as well as many other releases.
Check out the Games and Emulators section to find some of my work or check the files in my repository to find the software i build for ODROIDs.
If you want to add my repository to your image read my HOWTO integrate my repo into your image.

doomman117
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Post by doomman117 »

mad_ady wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 1:16 pm
It should automatically resize on first boot.
Well me and one other person are having the same issue on 128gb SD cards, maybe its a bug?

sw1fty
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 8:50 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: oga
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Post by sw1fty »

mad_ady wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 1:16 pm
It should automatically resize on first boot.
I have read this a few times but it definitely is not happening. I wonder if I'm missing any steps.
I write the image to the card with Win32DiskManager ( I have also tried again with Etcher).
I then safely eject the card from the PC and put it in the OGA for first boot. I get no prompts or even a very long boot time. It boots to Attract Mode in 10-20 seconds and everything appears completely fine. The partition just doesn't get expanded. Is there a way to do it manually?

doomman117
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Post by doomman117 »

sw1fty wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 7:47 pm
mad_ady wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 1:16 pm
It should automatically resize on first boot.
I have read this a few times but it definitely is not happening. I wonder if I'm missing any steps.
I write the image to the card with Win32DiskManager ( I have also tried again with Etcher).
I then safely eject the card from the PC and put it in the OGA for first boot. I get no prompts or even a very long boot time. It boots to Attract Mode in 10-20 seconds and everything appears completely fine. The partition just doesn't get expanded. Is there a way to do it manually?
Same here, I asked on the discord and they said there is a way to do it through gparted, however thats only a last resort, it can have some unforeseen consequences, as well as might not even work

mad_ady
Posts: 8337
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 574 times
Been thanked: 439 times
Contact:

Re: ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Post by mad_ady »

You can run fdisk /dev/mmcblk0, delete partition 2 (while running, that's right) and recreate it to fit the disk. Save the changes and then run resize2fs / and it should be done.

sw1fty
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 8:50 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: oga
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Post by sw1fty »

mad_ady wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:37 pm
You can run fdisk /dev/mmcblk0, delete partition 2 (while running, that's right) and recreate it to fit the disk. Save the changes and then run resize2fs / and it should be done.
Thanks for your effort to help with this. Could you possibly explain in more detail how I do that? I have no experience with this.
Am I right in thinking that this is done via the DinguxCommander?
I found mmcblk0 in there and tried to execute but nothing happens and it just returns me to the file directory. Also, where is resize2fs located?

mad_ady
Posts: 8337
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 574 times
Been thanked: 439 times
Contact:

Re: ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Post by mad_ady »

You need to type commands through ssh, as root

sw1fty
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 8:50 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: oga
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Post by sw1fty »

mad_ady wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 2:40 am
You need to type commands through ssh, as root
I have absolutely no idea how to do this. I've been at it for hours but I guess I'm just out of my depth. I'm unfortunately gonna have to give up on using this build.
Thanks for trying to help. Good luck Doomman117

User avatar
meveric
Posts: 11124
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:41 pm
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U2, U3, XU-Lite, XU3, XU3-Lite, C1, XU4, C2, C1+, XU4Q, HC1, N1, Go, H2 (N4100), N2, H2 (J4105), GoA, C4
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 390 times
Contact:

Re: ODROID GameStation Turbo Advance - GO2 (WIP)

Post by meveric »

originally the system resized the partition without reboot, but I guess that process may have issues with some SD cards.
I will look into it again and maybe do the resize with a reboot instead, as this may be more stable.
Donate to support my work on the ODROID GameStation Turbo Image for U2/U3 XU3/XU4 X2 X C1 as well as many other releases.
Check out the Games and Emulators section to find some of my work or check the files in my repository to find the software i build for ODROIDs.
If you want to add my repository to your image read my HOWTO integrate my repo into your image.

Post Reply

Return to “Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests