RTC backup battery / not booting

Post Reply
KC7NOA
Posts: 843
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:25 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-X2(blown HDMI output)
Odroid-C2 to replace X2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

RTC backup battery / not booting

Unread post by KC7NOA » Tue Oct 28, 2014 8:10 am

(sorry .. first post was to U2 for some reason)

Iv had my OdroidX2 for some time now ....

Been using the same power supply since day one ....

Today i was going to boot it up to see what Displaylink drivers were being used with Archlinux but ... its dead as a nail ..... not even a flash of the green LED's ....

checked the RTC backup battery and it was 1.1V ... and since iv left it pluged it seems to have risen to standing 1.3V .... prolly take a few hours to reach the 1.5V standing (no power) or is it saposed to be 3V ??

could this be the reason its not showing any life ?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32340
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 139 times
Been thanked: 319 times
Contact:

Re: RTC backup battery / not booting

Unread post by odroid » Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:02 pm

It should boot even the voltage on the backup capacitor is only 0.9Volt.

It took took 10~20minutes for rasing from 0.9V to 1.4Volt .
I will let you know how long time to reach to 2.5Volt.

Edit: 2 hours later, it is 2.9Volt approx now.

KC7NOA
Posts: 843
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:25 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-X2(blown HDMI output)
Odroid-C2 to replace X2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: RTC backup battery / not booting

Unread post by KC7NOA » Tue Oct 28, 2014 2:43 pm

At i.82V it stated booting ..... kinda odd ....

I thought it would boot at what you said .... .8V ... who cares some times about keeping correct time .... as long as it works ....

after being pluged in about 4hours or so is when it started to boot .... (with the occasional removal from power to check charged state)

I would of thought that it would boot even with no voltage on the cap ..... cuase when power is applied.. its at 3V ....

jim0293
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:20 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: RTC backup battery / not booting

Unread post by jim0293 » Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:54 pm

Does your Startup menu appear correct or are there items missing? Maybe this might be a project to build a unit to replace the CMOS backup battery share it.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest