CoreELEC

Post Reply
Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

I can't reproduce this issue either. I would not recommend disabling GUI scaling anyway. Do you have that issue with other skins too?

edd--
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 10:27 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2 N2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by edd-- »

without Petitboot (directly from eMMC or SD).

edd--
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 10:27 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2 N2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by edd-- »

Raybuntu wrote:
Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:08 pm
I can't reproduce this issue either. I would not recommend disabling GUI scaling anyway. Do you have that issue with other skins too?
yes, it's with all skins. I'm beginning to think that there is a HW issue with my N2. I've been experiencing crashes also from time to time ... It is a 2GB version, maybe that could be the difference ?

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

edd-- wrote:
Sun Jun 21, 2020 10:59 pm
Raybuntu wrote:
Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:08 pm
I can't reproduce this issue either. I would not recommend disabling GUI scaling anyway. Do you have that issue with other skins too?
yes, it's with all skins. I'm beginning to think that there is a HW issue with my N2. I've been experiencing crashes also from time to time ... It is a 2GB version, maybe that could be the difference ?
It depends. I only have a 4G N2. Maybe it's a memory issue idk. Does it happen with a fresh install too?

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

Can you please provide "dmesg" log when that issues happen.

edd--
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 10:27 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2 N2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by edd-- »

Raybuntu wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 2:20 am
Can you please provide "dmesg" log when that issues happen.
https://pastebin.com/mnERqzcS

edd--
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 10:27 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2 N2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by edd-- »

Bad news: I purchased a 4GB version of the N2, hoping that it would be a problem with my hardware. But I get exactly the same issue. So the only thing I can think of now is that it could be caused by the emmc chip ?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 36451
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1448 times
Been thanked: 986 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by odroid »

edd-- wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:57 pm
Bad news: I purchased a 4GB version of the N2, hoping that it would be a problem with my hardware. But I get exactly the same issue. So the only thing I can think of now is that it could be caused by the emmc chip ?
To narrow down, try official ubuntu-18.04.4-4.9-mate-odroid-n2-20200224.img.xz image with Etcher.
If you have a booting problem, create a new topic on the N2 Ubuntu sub-forum.

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

We just found that when enabling the usbpower option in boot.ini it will break the usb3 controller on the N2+. My N2+ USB is no dead for good. All I have seen is a little bit of smoke and a brown mark is on the GL3523 chip now. So please don't enable this option. It is not possible to enable it now in the upcoming nighlty. But I have seen that users flash 9.2.3 on their N2+. The 9.2.3 release does not support the N2+. Only nightly and upcoming 9.2.4 release will support N2+.
Please be careful.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 8277
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 728 times
Been thanked: 306 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by rooted »

Raybuntu wrote:We just found that when enabling the usbpower option in boot.ini it will break the usb3 controller on the N2+. My N2+ USB is no dead for good. All I have seen is a little bit of smoke and a brown mark is on the GL3523 chip now. So please don't enable this option. It is not possible to enable it now in the upcoming nighlty. But I have seen that users flash 9.2.3 on their N2+. The 9.2.3 release does not support the N2+. Only nightly and upcoming 9.2.4 release will support N2+.
Please be careful.
I'm glad you mentioned this, I looked at the option and thought about enabling it. Glad I didn't.

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

rooted wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 6:09 am
Raybuntu wrote:We just found that when enabling the usbpower option in boot.ini it will break the usb3 controller on the N2+. My N2+ USB is no dead for good. All I have seen is a little bit of smoke and a brown mark is on the GL3523 chip now. So please don't enable this option. It is not possible to enable it now in the upcoming nighlty. But I have seen that users flash 9.2.3 on their N2+. The 9.2.3 release does not support the N2+. Only nightly and upcoming 9.2.4 release will support N2+.
Please be careful.
I'm glad you mentioned this, I looked at the option and thought about enabling it. Glad I didn't.
Hopefully users will avoid it now. But I guess that's why we have development samples to catch these stuff.

roterdrachen
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:32 pm
languages_spoken: english deutsch
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by roterdrachen »

Where can I download Coreelec latest nightly for N2+ and balenaetcher? I need a bootable file, I can´t find it here:
https://github.com/CoreELEC/CoreELEC/tr ... 527f7481e8
I can only download a zip which I can´t install.

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

Because of the usbpower option we removed all Nightly builds that supported the N2+. Tonight's Nightly will have this usbpower option removed. But I can also build you one.
These users thanked the author Raybuntu for the post:
tobetter (Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:40 pm)

roterdrachen
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:32 pm
languages_spoken: english deutsch
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by roterdrachen »

Yes please, a nightly image would be great, I just got 2x N2+ from Hardkernel and I can´t wait to test them....

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

roterdrachen wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:42 pm
Yes please, a nightly image would be great, I just got 2x N2+ from Hardkernel and I can´t wait to test them....
Here you go:
https://mega.nz/folder/s44CQa5L#SjmINR9yjCs2okXE7h_oDg
These users thanked the author Raybuntu for the post:
roterdrachen (Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:04 am)

roterdrachen
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:32 pm
languages_spoken: english deutsch
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by roterdrachen »

Thanks a lot. Is it save to restore my old Corelec 9.2.3 stable settings? Can they possibly break the device? Should I begin setting up Coreelec from the scratch?

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

roterdrachen wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 11:23 pm
Thanks a lot. Is it save to restore my old Corelec 9.2.3 stable settings? Can they possibly break the device? Should I begin setting up Coreelec from the scratch?
It is save to restore the settings. The usbpower option is removed from boot.ini and in uboot.
The option was Settings->CoreELEC->Hardware->USB Power
You can disable it.
These users thanked the author Raybuntu for the post:
roterdrachen (Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:05 am)

Filmgeek47
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 1:39 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Filmgeek47 »

Hey guys,
Does CoreELEC play back 3D MVC MKV files? What about HD audio bitstreaming?

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

Filmgeek47 wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 1:46 am
Hey guys,
Does CoreELEC play back 3D MVC MKV files? What about HD audio bitstreaming?
I have an experimental build for 3D MVC but one user reported it working and the other one not working. Needs more work.

Filmgeek47
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 1:39 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Filmgeek47 »

Interesting. What about HD audio bitstreaming? I have Atmos so that’s become a requirement for me with new boxes.

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

Filmgeek47 wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 1:52 am
Interesting. What about HD audio bitstreaming? I have Atmos so that’s become a requirement for me with new boxes.
Dolby Atmos is supported out of the box. Depends what your AVR or Soundbar is capable of. My Soundbar plays Atmos, TrueHD, DTS:X, DTS-HD, DTS, Dolby. I have all of them tested on my N2. Additionally we have Multi PCM support. So in case you have files with aac 7.1 and your Soundbar or AVR supports multi pcm you can have surround sound for those too.

Filmgeek47
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 1:39 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Filmgeek47 »

Good to know. When you get more testers, I'd appreciate it if you could have them try playing back an MKV MVC of Avatar. I believe Vero 4k is also using an AML SOC, and they've got issues with macro-blocking in 3d files on that title and others.

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

Filmgeek47 wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 2:36 am
Good to know. When you get more testers, I'd appreciate it if you could have them try playing back an MKV MVC of Avatar. I believe Vero 4k is also using an AML SOC, and they've got issues with macro-blocking in 3d files on that title and others.
3D is not really gonna get much attention. Basically no Developer has a 3D TV. Some of the changes came from OSMC so it either works or it doesn't.

Filmgeek47
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 1:39 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Filmgeek47 »

Gotcha. I appreciate the heads-up.

roterdrachen
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:32 pm
languages_spoken: english deutsch
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by roterdrachen »

I also have a Vero4K+ and I like the new feature that there are two assigns for one button of the new remote control. Perhaps you can also build such a handy feature in CoreELEC ?

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

roterdrachen wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:04 am
I also have a Vero4K+ and I like the new feature that there are two assigns for one button of the new remote control. Perhaps you can also build such a handy feature in CoreELEC ?
What do you mean?

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 8277
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 728 times
Been thanked: 306 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by rooted »

Raybuntu wrote:
roterdrachen wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:04 am
I also have a Vero4K+ and I like the new feature that there are two assigns for one button of the new remote control. Perhaps you can also build such a handy feature in CoreELEC ?
What do you mean?
I think they mean press and long press button functions?

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

rooted wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:33 am
Raybuntu wrote:
roterdrachen wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:04 am
I also have a Vero4K+ and I like the new feature that there are two assigns for one button of the new remote control. Perhaps you can also build such a handy feature in CoreELEC ?
What do you mean?
I think they mean press and long press button functions?
Well this is already supported. You just need to use remote.conf and not meson-ir. Then you can use keymap editor addon or manually (according to the kodi wiki) assign a long press.
These users thanked the author Raybuntu for the post:
roterdrachen (Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:33 am)

roterdrachen
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:32 pm
languages_spoken: english deutsch
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by roterdrachen »

Yes I meant the long press of the buttons as second remote control assignment. I will look at it but is there something out of box that works like the Vero4K? Does someone knows a good remote.conf file that a lot of people use because it has a good functional assignment like the long button press feature?
Last edited by roterdrachen on Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:33 am, edited 2 times in total.

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

roterdrachen wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:19 am
Yes I meant the long press of the buttons as second remote control assignment. I will look at it but is there something out of box that works like the Vero4K?
No because we support a variety of devices and not just a single one. But it is possible to achieve that if you really want it.

roterdrachen
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:32 pm
languages_spoken: english deutsch
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by roterdrachen »

I understand and will try my best. Thanks a lot.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 8277
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 728 times
Been thanked: 306 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by rooted »


Raybuntu wrote:
rooted wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:33 am
Raybuntu wrote:
roterdrachen wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:04 am
I also have a Vero4K+ and I like the new feature that there are two assigns for one button of the new remote control. Perhaps you can also build such a handy feature in CoreELEC ?
What do you mean?
I think they mean press and long press button functions?
Well this is already supported. You just need to use remote.conf and not meson-ir. Then you can use keymap editor addon or manually (according to the kodi wiki) assign a long press.
I knew at one time long press ok/select would function as menu, apparently it did on some build I ran. (may have not been CoreELEC)

Thanks for the information.

Raybuntu
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+, C2
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Raybuntu »

rooted wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:36 am
Raybuntu wrote:
rooted wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:33 am
Raybuntu wrote:
roterdrachen wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:04 am
I also have a Vero4K+ and I like the new feature that there are two assigns for one button of the new remote control. Perhaps you can also build such a handy feature in CoreELEC ?
What do you mean?
I think they mean press and long press button functions?
Well this is already supported. You just need to use remote.conf and not meson-ir. Then you can use keymap editor addon or manually (according to the kodi wiki) assign a long press.
I knew at one time long press ok/select would function as menu, apparently it did on some build I ran. (may have not been CoreELEC)

Thanks for the information.
You can actually have it with meson-ir too. You only need to systemctl mask eventlircd.service

Ampere
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 6:20 pm
languages_spoken: dutch, french,english
ODROIDs: odroid n2 plus / odroid c2
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Ampere »

Is there a possibility to display the speed and temperature of the A73, it is only available for the A53 in the information page
Merci

Sholander
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 1:02 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID N2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Sholander »

Ampere wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:23 am
Is there a possibility to display the speed and temperature of the A73, it is only available for the A53 in the information page
Merci
Temperature is the same for both, since they use the same enclosure, and speed is possible, but not so simple. That's why it hasn't been done yet...
These users thanked the author Sholander for the post:
Ampere (Wed Aug 05, 2020 12:00 am)

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 8277
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 728 times
Been thanked: 306 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by rooted »

Sholander wrote:
Ampere wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:23 am
Is there a possibility to display the speed and temperature of the A73, it is only available for the A53 in the information page
Merci
Temperature is the same for both, since they use the same enclosure, and speed is possible, but not so simple. That's why it hasn't been done yet...
Instead of having both temperatures visible which would be invasively changing Kodi source couldn't it be made to be user selectable by adding an option somewhere like advancedsettings.xml or config.ini?

Sholander
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 1:02 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID N2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Sholander »

Are there two temp sensors in the same SoC? I think there is only one, so what would be the point?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 36451
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1448 times
Been thanked: 986 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by odroid »

There are two temperature sensors in the S922X.
One for CPU and another one for GPU/DRAM controller.
But the maximum difference seems to be 6~7ºC only as you might guess.

User avatar
cdu13a
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:33 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C2, XU4, HC1, N2
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 105 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by cdu13a »

Just a quick note for ODROID-N2Plus users, CoreELEC 9.2.4 is now available. This would be the first stable build to support the ODROID-N2Plus, and the current recommend version if you are interested in installing CoreELEC on your ODROID-N2Plus.

The latest stable build; CoreELEC 9.2.4, can be downloaded from
https://coreelec.org/#download

Release Notes for CoreELEC 9.2.4 for anybody who may be interested.
https://discourse.coreelec.org/t/coreelec-9-2-4/12387
These users thanked the author cdu13a for the post (total 3):
tobetter (Sun Aug 09, 2020 11:48 am) • odroidn2user (Sun Aug 09, 2020 10:38 pm) • odroid (Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:53 am)

User avatar
cdu13a
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:33 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C2, XU4, HC1, N2
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 105 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by cdu13a »

For N2 and N2Plus users that use petitboot to dual boot between CoreELEC and another OS.

There is an incompatibility between older versions of petitboot and newer versions of CoreELEC. This results in petitboot not being able to find available OS to boot.

You should update petitboot to version 20200816 or newer, before updating to or installing CoreELEC 9.2.4.2 or newer.

If you already updated to the new version of CoreELEC and didn't update Petitboot before doing so. Don't worry, just update petitboot and everything will start working again. :grin:
These users thanked the author cdu13a for the post (total 3):
tobetter (Tue Aug 18, 2020 4:20 am) • odroid (Tue Aug 18, 2020 11:44 am) • bedwyr (Thu Aug 20, 2020 6:25 am)

xtertristl
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 1:23 am
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: HC2, N2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by xtertristl »

Hello all I've been using a nightly build from 20190508 for ages on my N2 and each time I boot it would tell me that I have an update available. I have the settings in xmbc to update automatically but I'm not sure if it's doing the update as I can't believe that every week this build for and older SMB is still getting weekly updates. I'd like to upgrade to the stable branch but am unsure how todo this. Can anyone point me to the proper steps on how todo this as when I ssh'ed into the machine and tried and apt-get upgrade I got a warning message about how libreElec doesn't support repositories and I should use the XBMC's browser addon. I thought I was on coreElec not LibreElec and I though I was using Kodi not XBMC. Also I tried putting the ip address into my browser but I couldn't connect to a browser addon. Any direction would be great.

Edit Don't worry about it I've just installed a fresh copy of CoreELEC and all is working again.

ecr
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:10 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by ecr »

is this the right place to ask about performance in Kodi/CE?

I wanted to know potential difference between C4 and N2 (or N2+) w.r.t using Kodi with heavy skins which have a lot of graphical effects, along with large libraries - this can be slow on low powered devices such as my Fire stick 4k.

I know both S905X3 and S922x can decode everything in hardware. the 922x has enough power to also decode 1080p in sw but that is not going to be need in CoreElec.

So it comes down whether C4 is slow in comparison is and how much is the extra cpu speed in N2 obvious - is it a big difference when scrolling/navigating or not?

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 8277
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 728 times
Been thanked: 306 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by rooted »

ecr wrote:is this the right place to ask about performance in Kodi/CE?

I wanted to know potential difference between C4 and N2 (or N2+) w.r.t using Kodi with heavy skins which have a lot of graphical effects, along with large libraries - this can be slow on low powered devices such as my Fire stick 4k.

I know both S905X3 and S922x can decode everything in hardware. the 922x has enough power to also decode 1080p in sw but that is not going to be need in CoreElec.

So it comes down whether C4 is slow in comparison is and how much is the extra cpu speed in N2 obvious - is it a big difference when scrolling/navigating or not?
I have ran CE on the C4, N2, and N2+ and with the default skin you can't really tell a difference between them.

But things like listing Netflix movies in the plug-in and any processor heavy task the N2+ is noticeable faster than the other 2, so if a skin in CPU intensive it will be noticeably faster.

Dreamer7777
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2020 3:19 am
languages_spoken: Englisch
ODROIDs: C2, N2+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by Dreamer7777 »

I started with a new instalation on my Odroid N2+ 4GB Ram. I instaled the (18.1.8.1)PVR Client Teleboy, first it seemd that it will works well with my free account. After reboot i have the problem that i have to deactivate the client and then activate ... after that it will work . Does anybody else have problems like this.
THX

tosh123
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 2:57 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by tosh123 »

[Expert settings]
On my N2+ Installation (official 9.2.5] i miss the setting for DTS-HD and Atmos. Is there something to enable extra?

User avatar
cdu13a
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:33 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C2, XU4, HC1, N2
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 105 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by cdu13a »

tosh123 wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 1:53 am
[Expert settings]
On my N2+ Installation (official 9.2.5] i miss the setting for DTS-HD and Atmos. Is there something to enable extra?
Settings > System > Audio then look under Audio Passthrough.

tosh123
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 2:57 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by tosh123 »

cdu13a wrote:
Tue Dec 01, 2020 2:23 am
tosh123 wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 1:53 am
[Expert settings]
On my N2+ Installation (official 9.2.5] i miss the setting for DTS-HD and Atmos. Is there something to enable extra?
Settings > System > Audio then look under Audio Passthrough.
Yes, this is what i meant - in the "passthrough" section i can only tick on Dolby and DTS, the lines for Atmos and DTS HD (like in other KODI variants) are missing.

User avatar
cdu13a
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:33 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C2, XU4, HC1, N2
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 105 times
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by cdu13a »

tosh123 wrote:
Wed Dec 09, 2020 5:04 am
cdu13a wrote:
Tue Dec 01, 2020 2:23 am
tosh123 wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 1:53 am
[Expert settings]
On my N2+ Installation (official 9.2.5] i miss the setting for DTS-HD and Atmos. Is there something to enable extra?
Settings > System > Audio then look under Audio Passthrough.
Yes, this is what i meant - in the "passthrough" section i can only tick on Dolby and DTS, the lines for Atmos and DTS HD (like in other KODI variants) are missing.
What do you have set as the "passthrough output device"?

tosh123
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 2:57 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by tosh123 »

Thanx, that was the reason, it was on optical output.

maple121
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 3:27 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: Odroid-C2
Odroid-XU4
Odroid-N2
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: CoreELEC

Post by maple121 »

cdu13a wrote:
Wed Sep 25, 2019 1:40 pm
@dtx

Instead of directly adding the 3440x1440p60hz video mode to the kernel, I took it as an opportunity to look into adding custom video mode support to CoreELEC.

If you:
  • Install this image, (preferable on a blank micro sd and not over top of your existing install.)
    CoreELEC-Amlogic-ng.arm-9.2-devel-1569372808-Odroid_N2.img.gz
  • Add the following to your config.ini

    Code: Select all

    modeline="3440,1440,319750,88819,60,3440,3520,3552,3600,1440,1468,1478,1481,1,0,1" 
  • Reboot
  • Goto Settings/System/Display/Resolution and select 3440x1440p
This should let you switch to 3440x1440p60hz (Which hopefully works :) , I unfortunately don't have a monitor that supports that resolution to test with)
@cdu13a

Can I get the similar version like this test version image?

I'm experiencing a problem for using 3440x1440 resolution with Coreelec 9.5.2(stable) version.
I tried to solve it with inserting modeline on config.ini and changed the resolution 3440x1440p60 (it was added with disp_add).
but nothing happened. it looks like modeline command is not working.

This is the reason why I'm asking you the test image.

Post Reply

Return to “Other OS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest