[Solved?] PXE boot not working on H2+

Post Reply
smellyfis
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 6:56 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, H2, H2+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

[Solved?] PXE boot not working on H2+

Post by smellyfis »

I have tried to get my H2+ to do a PXE boot now for a few weeks.

I have checked my dhcpd leases and there are no record of the MAC address.

I Upgraded to the 1.22 version of BIOS and still nothing.

The setup I have works fine for the original H2s I have but the H2+ is the issue
Last edited by smellyfis on Sat Jan 16, 2021 5:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 36385
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1431 times
Been thanked: 980 times
Contact:

Re: PXE boot not working on H2+

Post by odroid »

We've not used the PXE boot feature.
We will try set up a test environment first.

fvolk
Posts: 527
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, C4, H2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 52 times
Contact:

Re: PXE boot not working on H2+

Post by fvolk »

smellyfis wrote:
Thu Jan 14, 2021 6:59 am
The setup I have works fine for the original H2s I have but the H2+ is the issue
Can you compare the UEFI output between your H2 and H2+ when the request is sent out?
If yes, does it differ?

smellyfis
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 6:56 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, H2, H2+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: PXE boot not working on H2+

Post by smellyfis »

fvolk wrote:
Thu Jan 14, 2021 5:35 pm
Can you compare the UEFI output between your H2 and H2+ when the request is sent out?
I don't know completely what you mean. But the output to the screen on boot is the same until it says "no media present". there is no debugging information really on the boot up
From the dhcp server the H2+ there is no connection attempted but for the H2 the hostname starts with "PXECLIENT..."

fvolk
Posts: 527
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, C4, H2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 52 times
Contact:

Re: PXE boot not working on H2+

Post by fvolk »

Yes, just the output on your screen whether there is a diagnostic, you did not mention that initially.
But if UEFI says "no media present" then it seems like the proper support for the new network chip of the H2+ is missing in UEFI?
This question can only be answered by Odroid...

joshua.yang
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:54 pm
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: XU4, XU4Q + Cloudshell2, H2, N2
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 130 times
Contact:

Re: PXE boot not working on H2+

Post by joshua.yang »

smellyfis wrote:
Fri Jan 15, 2021 12:45 am
I don't know completely what you mean. But the output to the screen on boot is the same until it says "no media present". there is no debugging information really on the boot up
From the dhcp server the H2+ there is no connection attempted but for the H2 the hostname starts with "PXECLIENT..."
Hi.

I have tested PXE boot on H2+ and it works on my side. I used netboot.xyz as a provider.
Based on what you said, it seems like the PXE boot feature is disabled on your H2+. Go to the BIOS and check if "Advanced -> Network Stack Configuration -> Network Stack" is enabled.
If this is enabled, you can see the PXE related options like "IPv4 PXE support" and its corresponded boot entry in "Boot Option Priorities" menu.

smellyfis
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 6:56 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, H2, H2+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: PXE boot not working on H2+

Post by smellyfis »

What version of the bios do you have?
I have obviously set the network boot option. As it says that it is trying to boot using pxe

What do you mean "as a provider" I. Using tftp to serve a pxe capable grub which is pointed to by my "next-server" by my dhcp server. That set up works with the h2 but as nothing is even hitting the DHCP server shows that the h2+ is not even trying to get a address which has to happen before something is provided to even boot.

joshua.yang
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:54 pm
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: XU4, XU4Q + Cloudshell2, H2, N2
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 130 times
Contact:

Re: PXE boot not working on H2+

Post by joshua.yang »

smellyfis wrote:
Fri Jan 15, 2021 12:31 pm
What version of the bios do you have?
I have obviously set the network boot option. As it says that it is trying to boot using pxe

What do you mean "as a provider" I. Using tftp to serve a pxe capable grub which is pointed to by my "next-server" by my dhcp server. That set up works with the h2 but as nothing is even hitting the DHCP server shows that the h2+ is not even trying to get a address which has to happen before something is provided to even boot.
The test device has 1.22 BIOS which is the latest one.

My test environment is consists of two Docker images. One is running DHCP server and another one is the "netboot.xyz" service. Those images running in the other machine in the same sub network.
The DHCP daemon monitors all of the other machines connected to the same local network, if a machine requests PXE boot then the DHCP daemon leads that to connect to the netboot.xyz service and the netboot.xyz service provides the boot files.
It isn't that different from yours, it does use TFTP.

Seems like the H2+ has no ethernet connection. If the PXE boot option enabled in BIOS, it should try to search the local network even there's no PXE server.
Although it couldn't boot using PXE, >>Checking Media Presence...... doesn't show up either?

Or, the H2+ supposed to send a broadcasting message to the network. Then the DHCP service should catch that message.

joshua.yang
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:54 pm
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: XU4, XU4Q + Cloudshell2, H2, N2
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 130 times
Contact:

Re: PXE boot not working on H2+

Post by joshua.yang »

Here's my dnsmasq.conf.

Code: Select all

#dnsmasq config, for a complete example, see:
#  http://oss.segetech.com/intra/srv/dnsmasq.conf

#log all dns queries
log-queries

#dont use hosts nameservers
no-resolv

# Enable DHCP logging
log-dhcp

# Disable DNS server
port=0

# Disable re-use of the DHCP servername and filename fields as extra
# option space. That's to avoid confusing some old or broken DHCP clients.
dhcp-no-override

# Run as root user
user=root

# Respond to PXE requests for the specified network;
# run as DHCP proxy
dhcp-range=192.168.11.2,192.168.11.254,255.255.255.0
# Change the IP address to the PXE server
dhcp-boot=tag:efi64,netboot.xyz.efi,,192.168.11.77

dhcp-match=set:efi64,60,PXEClient:Arch:00007
dhcp-match=set:efi64,60,PXEClient:Arch:00008
dhcp-match=set:efi64,60,PXEClient:Arch:00009
This might be wrong as I'm not a "PXE expert". What I do remember is that the last three lines make the DHCP daemon detects the Odroid H2+ board for UEFI things. Hope it helps.

smellyfis
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 6:56 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, H2, H2+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: [Solved?] PXE boot not working on H2+

Post by smellyfis »

So I connected the cable to a different port on my network switch and all of a sudden it started sending out packets... so I guess it wasn't a driver issue thanks for the help

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: igorpec and 2 guests