My new rack! It's time to build in H2 as router

Post Reply
User avatar
Mullcom
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 1:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

My new rack! It's time to build in H2 as router

Unread post by Mullcom » Tue Aug 06, 2019 9:52 pm

Hello.

New i start to get everything i need for my new 19"rack that going to be my main station between ISP fiber and my network.

I have renovate a room in my basement that going to be the place for all my servers and so on


Workday1 One/B]

I starting to find a good place to mount the rack and figure out how to solve canceling issue that are always a problem. I finding old Ikea cabeling box that i am going to mount under the rack. So all leftover cabeling can be hiding in that box before it go in to the rack. I also build A frame that I will write on the wall in which I then attach the rack cabinet. In this way, the cabinet comes out slightly from the wall which can be of some benefit in the future.

ImageImage



Workday Two

Today i manage to get the frame up on the wall.
Now i am going to buy some Cable Channels so i can put away all cabels that go in and out from this rack.





Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk




Image
Last edited by Mullcom on Tue Aug 06, 2019 9:52 pm, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
Mullcom
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 1:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: My new rack! It's time to build in H2 as router

Unread post by Mullcom » Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:08 am

Reserv 1

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk


User avatar
Mullcom
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 1:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: My new rack! It's time to build in H2 as router

Unread post by Mullcom » Fri Aug 09, 2019 8:34 pm

Gallery
Image

Image

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk

User avatar
Mullcom
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 1:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: My new rack! It's time to build in H2 as router

Unread post by Mullcom » Sat Aug 17, 2019 6:47 pm

I did have some issue with my Pfsense installation on H2. Under this investigation I start think of moving Pfsense to VM instead of have it directly installed on H2.

This make some benefits
*I can install other type of software that are in same category on same device.

*Get access to Pfsense boot process when it get problematic. This help a lot and you don't need to go directly to the bearmetal to gett the access.

*you have the ability to make snapshots and do roll back easy and if hardware brakes you can easy replace it with no time consuming work.


The main question I wondering off is how dose this efeckt performers. And how should I build my network and off course do I get limitation on the future? What I meant with limitation is that somting I can't do in the network setup when I have Pfsense in VM environment.

Beem my message up with phone.


User avatar
Mullcom
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 1:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: My new rack! It's time to build in H2 as router

Unread post by Mullcom » Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:27 am

So I have thought a lot how to do. but I think I love a good solution. Will install Pfsense as core. Then I install cloneOS. Because Pfsense is running freebsd and cloneOS is are build for freeBSD I can have this two on same system.

When I have setup cloneOS I can create different VM that I can have some systems on like.

UniFi Network Controller - wifi
guacamole - remoute
Librenms - sntp for alarm


Beem my message up with phone.



filou59
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 6:18 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: HC1/HC2/XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: My new rack! It's time to build in H2 as router

Unread post by filou59 » Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:44 am

Hello
On mine I've :
-Proxmox
-OPNsense in VM.
-Pi-Hole on LXC
+....
Works fine since 3 week.
These users thanked the author filou59 for the post:
Mullcom (Sun Sep 08, 2019 5:15 am)

User avatar
Mullcom
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 1:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: My new rack! It's time to build in H2 as router

Unread post by Mullcom » Sun Sep 08, 2019 5:20 am

filou59 wrote:Hello
On mine I've :
-Proxmox
-OPNsense in VM.
-Pi-Hole on LXC
+....
Works fine since 3 week.
How did you solved VM ?

I did some investigation about install clonOS on Pfsense build but it seams that they have take away so it can't build other things .. so back to find a VM that I install first..

And how is performance in network when you have opnsense in VM?

Beem my message up with phone.


Post Reply

Return to “Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest