Problem with 2 memory sticks

alex_dom
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by alex_dom » Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:50 pm

You forgot the crappy Gigabit Ethernet in between that obviously received no testing at all prior to selling RPi 3 B+
We already started oftop-ing here. I hope this thread will be used to address the issue with CL14 that will finally be fixed.
But to the sake of the true, the Rpi never claimed anything more that FastEthernet. Which works solid 12MBps Full duplex. What happen with 3A+, I don't know anymore. I think that is transition to 4, I guess. But Rpi2B is a work horse that never fails, like C1/XU4 does sometimes.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29373
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by odroid » Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:19 pm

I agree.
Once we receive the CL13 RAM samples several days later, we will test it carefully including any BIOS tweaking options.
So I hope other people stop posting off-topic items until that time frame.

bugmenot
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 1:16 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by bugmenot » Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:59 pm

can confirm working with two Timetec (Hynix) 16G DDR4 2400 CL17 1.2V 2Rx8 PC4-19200 DDR4 2400 Mhz SODIMM 260 PL180418D#NP52

tested only bios and boot to live linux so far

Humanitarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:26 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by Humanitarian » Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:26 pm

Sorry to hijack the thread but I was also having issues with RAM comparability.
the Corsair CMSO4GX4M1A2133C15 4gb 2133 did not work for me, single or dual dimm, however, the Kingston KVR21S15S8/4 modules did work in both single and dual configuration.
Just thought I'd share.

alex_dom
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by alex_dom » Sun Dec 16, 2018 8:40 am

odroid wrote:Once we receive the CL13 RAM samples several days later
Any results?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29373
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by odroid » Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:52 pm

We will receive the samples tomorrow.
I will post our test result and countermeasures in this week.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29373
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by odroid » Wed Dec 19, 2018 7:27 pm

We received HyperX HX424S14IB2/8 Impact Black CL14 modules earlier than the tracking information.
We could reproduce the issue once we installed two memory modules on the H2.
Fortunately(Unfortunately?) Asrock J4105 ITX board also has the same issue.
Therefore, the timing limitation might exist in the SoC not the PCB design probably. We will check it with Intel engineers later.

Anyway, we've tested our trial BIOS to override CL14(or lower) to CL15.
It worked fine as expected.
So please try to update the BIOS with a single memory stick.
The trial BIOS can be found in
https://dn.odroid.com/ODROID-H2/bios/trial/
The BIOS update guide is available in this WiKi page.
https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-h2/hardw ... ios_update

If you don't have the dual memory modules issue, don't try it since we didn't fully qualified the trial BIOS.

alex_dom
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by alex_dom » Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:26 am

Thanks! I will give new BIOS a try. Are you expecting for stable version of it? Hopefully you have some good news from Intel on CL14 support.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29373
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by odroid » Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:43 am

We've run the memtest over 20 hours, there is no single bit error so far.
VAAPI transcoding also worked fine. We will do further test later.

Anyway, it is very worth to try and you can go back to the previous version just in case.
Please update the BIOS and let us know how it works.

alex_dom
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by alex_dom » Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:25 am

Sure I will. I contacted Intel as well, but based on what I read, the RAM timings up to 13-13-13-35 are supported. Though some people from NUC comunity complained about Kingston HyperX 2400.
Also please read the post above where I describe an issue with CPU capacitors. They are out of range and might affect CPU stability.
One more thing, how to stop the proccess of loading the M2 drive and other perefity if the system failed to boot and stuck on the test level? That was a problem with the two RAM modules, when the M2 drive got overheated

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29373
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by odroid » Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:58 am

Did you unmount the capacitors from the H2 PCB to measure the capacitance?
Otherwise, the value should be quite different due to impedance from other devices.

Anyway, let's use separated threads for each issues.

theisk
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:56 pm
languages_spoken: english, finnish
ODROIDs: ODROID-H2
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by theisk » Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:05 pm

Thanks for the trial BIOS! I tested it with HyperX HX424S14IBK2/8 set running ~10 hours of MemTest86, and no single bit error as a result. Will continue with further system installation now.

EDIT: BTW, memtest reports memory timings as CL14, should it notice the CL15 override?

alex_dom
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by alex_dom » Fri Dec 21, 2018 1:57 am

theisk wrote:
Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:05 pm
memtest reports memory timings as CL14, should it notice the CL15 override?
Same to me. I think it is overriden from BIOS. That is why. Sure it is not the same as 14-14-14. But it may work that way though. Odroid might fix it, not hardcode it.
I will continue testing my 2x16GB 2400 HyperX kit with all equipment installed: 4 x 3.5” USB HDD, 1 NVMe SSD, and 2 SATA SSD.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29373
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by odroid » Fri Dec 21, 2018 9:55 am

@theisk, @alex_dom,
Thank you for the tests.

As far as I know, memtest and some other utilities are reading the SPD information from the DRAM module directly.
In that case, the overriding might be very complicated.

alex_dom
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by alex_dom » Sat Dec 22, 2018 2:25 am

So how did you hardcode the value of 15? Does that mean that it is only overriden for BIOS to start the system, where as the real latency is 14?

r2binx
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 6:03 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by r2binx » Sat Dec 22, 2018 5:05 am

venkatbo wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:12 pm
This 2 x 8GB set also worked for me: Corsair Vengeance 2 x 8GB SODIMMs - CMSX16GX4M2A2400C16, 16-16-16-39 CL
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Categorie ... M2A2400C16

Looks like the chances of CL16 and slower are more likely to work, and the faster CL14 seem to be problematic - purely anecdotal...
got the 2x4GB kit, everything else is the same (CMSX8GX4M2A2400C16) but somehow its not booting. Any ideas why?

User avatar
venkatbo
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:10 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C0/C1+/C2 U3+ XU3-Lite/XU4 VU/VU7+ Touchscreen Show TFT Cloudshell SmartPower mAHRS DAC GPS Multiscope
Location: Bay Area, California
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by venkatbo » Sat Dec 22, 2018 6:14 pm

r2binx wrote:
Sat Dec 22, 2018 5:05 am
got the 2x4GB kit, everything else is the same (CMSX8GX4M2A2400C16) but somehow its not booting. Any ideas why?
Beats me, no idea why you are observing this.

You can try one at a time and see, eliminating a "bad" module, if any. If you have another board that takes those modules, you can narrow down issues..

As a last resort, you can upgrade bios with the newer one offered by HK. Though no one has reported issues with bios upgrades on the H2, folks have bricked other MBs before while upgrading the bios... so pl. be aware of risks.

r2binx
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 6:03 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by r2binx » Sat Dec 22, 2018 11:20 pm

venkatbo wrote:
Sat Dec 22, 2018 6:14 pm
Beats me, no idea why you are observing this.

You can try one at a time and see, eliminating a "bad" module, if any. If you have another board that takes those modules, you can narrow down issues..

As a last resort, you can upgrade bios with the newer one offered by HK. Though no one has reported issues with bios upgrades on the H2, folks have bricked other MBs before while upgrading the bios... so pl. be aware of risks.
Tried every combination, won't boot even with just one module. Really weird however I now can confirm that the RAM of an 2017 iMac is working fine. It's a 2x4GB kit 2400Mhz CL17 (MTA4ATF51264HZ-2G3E2).

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29373
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by odroid » Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:26 pm

alex_dom wrote:
Sat Dec 22, 2018 2:25 am
So how did you hardcode the value of 15? Does that mean that it is only overriden for BIOS to start the system, where as the real latency is 14?
BIOS overrides the CL value and Kernel doesn't change the DRAM controller settings.
But system utilities read the value directly from the SPD EEPROM.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29373
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by odroid » Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:28 pm

r2binx wrote:
Sat Dec 22, 2018 11:20 pm
Tried every combination, won't boot even with just one module. Really weird however I now can confirm that the RAM of an 2017 iMac is working fine. It's a 2x4GB kit 2400Mhz CL17 (MTA4ATF51264HZ-2G3E2).
Please update the BIOS with iMAC RAM and try other RAM modules.

This strange Corsair memory specification says the tested CL value is 16 while the SPD CL value is 9.
So it doesn't boot even with a single memory module.
https://www.corsair.com/eu/en/Categorie ... M2A2400C16

homeclouder
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:30 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: H2, 4x MC1, HC1
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by homeclouder » Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:43 pm

Hello, I'm new here.

I have tested a H2 with 2x Crucial CT8G4SFD824A 8 GB

Sometimes Linux Mint don't work and Firefox crashed.

Memtest86 found many errors... over 16 after the half test-time

which config run better? Should I buy the original Samsung Ram or is 16 GB too much?? The cpu only support 8 GB ...

alex_dom
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by alex_dom » Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:58 am

Looks like your problem is not relevant to the one that is being descussed here. My suggestion, think of replacing your memory sticks. That is the easy way. Please read first page, it is explained there how it works with >8GB of RAM.

homeclouder
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:30 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: H2, 4x MC1, HC1
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by homeclouder » Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:33 am

alex_dom wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:58 am
Looks like your problem is not relevant to the one that is being descussed here. My suggestion, think of replacing your memory sticks. That is the easy way. Please read first page, it is explained there how it works with >8GB of RAM.
This Thread menas problems with two Memory Modules, I have read in this theard about the cruical ram with 8 gb and I buy it. Memtest86 found many errors, at the first page of this theard I don't find a solution.

The crucial ram with 8 GB are don't work fine at this board. memtest86 live system don't like the ram...

sorry for the bad english, I'm from germany.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29373
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by odroid » Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:42 am

@homeclouder,
What happens with memtest if you install only one memory module?
Did you update the BIOS?

homeclouder
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:30 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: H2, 4x MC1, HC1
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by homeclouder » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:06 pm

odroid wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:42 am
@homeclouder,
What happens with memtest if you install only one memory module?
Did you update the BIOS?
I have the original bios software

Yesterday Memtest found 97 Errors with two memorys.

I test one memory in Slot 1 and after 5 minutes memtest found 7635 errors!!!! In Slot 0 after 1 Minutes Memtest found over 100 Errors. I think the memory is not fine.

Memory 2 have after 13 Minutes no errors, I'm waiting for the complet results from memory 2. After this I test the other slot with memory 2.

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by fvolk » Sun Dec 30, 2018 1:11 am

What does everyone here use as memtest? What USB stick bootable image?
The standard Ubuntu live CD image does not offer memtest in the Grub menu due to UEFI boot :-/

alex_dom
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by alex_dom » Sun Dec 30, 2018 8:40 am

I use memtester

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by fvolk » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:58 pm

I can report the following memory working -- there seems to be a nice supply of them because it was once used in Macbooks and the upgraders sell them now used for cheap.
hynix.jpg
hynix.jpg (67.27 KiB) Viewed 475 times
ramtest.jpg
ramtest.jpg (99.21 KiB) Viewed 475 times

LukeD
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 7:33 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by LukeD » Sat Jan 05, 2019 7:39 am

I can confirm the following modules DO NOT work with the H2:

Corsair Vengeance CMSX16GX4M2A3000C16 (2x16GB kit) - blank screen / no video output

I can confirm the following modules DO work with the H2:

Corsair Vengeance CMSX16GX4M1A2400C16 (2x16GB kit)

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6085
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by rooted » Sat Jan 05, 2019 8:38 am

LukeD wrote:I can confirm the following modules DO NOT work with the H2:

Corsair Vengeance CMSX16GX4M2A3000C16 (2x16GB kit) - blank screen / no video output

I can confirm the following modules DO work with the H2:

Corsair Vengeance CMSX16GX4M1A2400C16 (2x16GB kit)
Your BIOS has been updated and they still do not work?

User avatar
venkatbo
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:10 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C0/C1+/C2 U3+ XU3-Lite/XU4 VU/VU7+ Touchscreen Show TFT Cloudshell SmartPower mAHRS DAC GPS Multiscope
Location: Bay Area, California
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by venkatbo » Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:00 am

The one that doesnt work appears to be a 3000MT/s module but the one that works appears to be a 2400MT/s module - well within H2 spec... but then i thought a faster module is capable of supporting slower speeds...

LukeD
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 7:33 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by LukeD » Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:24 pm

I'm on 1.02 bios. I didn't try the beta 1.03

alex_dom
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by alex_dom » Tue Jan 08, 2019 12:23 pm

Try the 1.03(beta) BIOS. It worked for me. I have to report though, that I needed to re-flash it twice in order to get the CL14 RAM modules to work booth together.

antro82
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:00 am
languages_spoken: english, portuguese and spanish, but would like to learn korean
ODROIDs: odroid-go and pre-own an odroid-h2
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by antro82 » Fri Jan 18, 2019 2:16 am

I'm also having problem as r2binx with the memory: CMSX8GX4M2A2400C16

I don't have any other memory to test, if I update the BIOS those CMSX8GX4M2A2400C16 will gonna work?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29373
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Problem with 2 memory sticks

Unread post by odroid » Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:45 am

antro82 wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 2:16 am
I'm also having problem as r2binx with the memory: CMSX8GX4M2A2400C16

I don't have any other memory to test, if I update the BIOS those CMSX8GX4M2A2400C16 will gonna work?
Yes, It should work with BIOS version 1.03.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware and peripherals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests