CPU Speed @1500 instead of 2400

Post Reply
Catscrash
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:45 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: Odroid U2
Contact:

CPU Speed @1500 instead of 2400

Unread post by Catscrash » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:20 pm

Hi,

a few days ago pollin started selling H2s again, I was quick and got one. When it arrived I noticed why they had some again - the seal had been broken already, I'm thinking this is a unit someone else didn't want. I hope it's okay...

It seems to work good so far, but one thing I'm confused about is the CPU speed. Bios says min 800MHZ, max 1500MHZ in the CPU screen. And cat /proc/cpuinfo says 1500mhz as well:

[...]
processor : 3
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 122
model name : Intel(R) Celeron(R) J4105 CPU @ 1.50GHz
[...]

Is there a wrong setting somewhere?

thanks!

SirDigi
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: CPU Speed @1500 instead of 2400

Unread post by SirDigi » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:40 pm

Hello,

just one remark to the broken seal: Pollin puts his own product sticker onto the H2, therefore they have to open the seal. So this is not an indicator of being used already.

The base frequency is 1500 MHz, burst shall be 2500 MHz. My H2 also reports 1500 MHz at /proc/cpuinfo.

Best regards
SirDigi

Catscrash
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:45 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: Odroid U2
Contact:

Re: CPU Speed @1500 instead of 2400

Unread post by Catscrash » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:50 pm

Hi,

true, there's a pollin sticker, that might be the reason as well. It looks fine and clean otherwise as well and seems to run okay. Even if it's a returned unit, as long as it's in perfect state, all is well. Just happy I got one.

ok thanks, I got to see it now as well while doing a system upgrade the cpu obviously had something to do ;-)

cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep -i mhz
cpu MHz : 1948.425
cpu MHz : 2180.560
cpu MHz : 1784.348
cpu MHz : 1793.336

tkaiser
Posts: 665
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 12:30 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, C2, XU4, HC1
Contact:

Re: CPU Speed @1500 instead of 2400

Unread post by tkaiser » Sat Jan 12, 2019 12:32 am

You can actually measure clockspeeds:

Code: Select all

git clone http://git.1wt.eu/git/mhz.git/
cd mhz
make
taskset -c 0 ./mhz 3 100000
./mhz 3 100000

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware and peripherals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests