HDR on H2?

Post Reply
doughnut
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 5:10 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C1+ XU4 H2
Location: So. Fla. USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

HDR on H2?

Unread post by doughnut » Thu May 23, 2019 6:51 am

From what I can tell, according to the Intel web site, HDR would not be supported on this device. It does not have HDMI2.0a nor DisplayPort 1.4, which they say are minimum requirements for HDR. Can anyone dispute this?

doughnut
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 5:10 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C1+ XU4 H2
Location: So. Fla. USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: HDR on H2?

Unread post by doughnut » Thu May 23, 2019 6:57 am

I also don't see LSPCON in the hardware block diagram, which is also required.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 31363
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 184 times
Contact:

Re: HDR on H2?

Unread post by odroid » Thu May 23, 2019 8:21 am

As far as I know, the Gemini Lake VPU can decode the HDR video format. But there seems not to be a way to render the video properly due to some missing vout features.
If you have spare time, please check the SoC datasheet.
https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-h2/start ... datasheets

yudouxie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:06 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: H2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: HDR on H2?

Unread post by yudouxie » Wed Jun 05, 2019 1:47 pm

using the MPC-HC player might be an acceptable solution.

joshua.yang
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:54 pm
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: XU4, XU4Q + Cloudshell2, H2
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 20 times
Contact:

Re: HDR on H2?

Unread post by joshua.yang » Wed Jun 05, 2019 5:34 pm

I'm not sure whether H2 could run HDR contents or not, either.

But just FYI, I believe MPC-HC is deprecated. For Windows system, MPC-BE has more functionalities and actively developing.
Google to get more information, by using like this keyword "mpc-be hdr". You may also need madVR program to allow passthrough HDR metadata to your monitor/TV.

doughnut
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 5:10 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C1+ XU4 H2
Location: So. Fla. USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: HDR on H2?

Unread post by doughnut » Wed Jun 12, 2019 8:46 am

I've tried madvr without much success on the H2 (it works just fine on my I5/rx-580). H2 runs with minimal settings if I output 1080p, but I am going after 4k output. Madvr seems to take too much to do the HDR to SDR mapping, even at low settings. Using software, even if its in the GPU, probably isn't going to work. I use Kodi a lot, I will continue to look at it. I will probably load up Ubuntu just to see if it behaves (no madvr :-( ) any different using the native kodi player. Right now, I can live with 1080p output to my 4k display.

I like to use potplayer, only because I got used to it first. I assume there is not much difference between it and mpc-hc.

RomaT
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 8 times
Contact:

Re: HDR on H2?

Unread post by RomaT » Wed Jun 12, 2019 11:54 am

By the way, you did not try to insert the graphics card into M.2 ?
m2-pcie.jpg
m2-pcie.jpg (16.16 KiB) Viewed 741 times
Last edited by RomaT on Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Pienoet
Posts: 397
Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 10:04 pm
languages_spoken: english Dutch
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: HDR on H2?

Unread post by Pienoet » Wed Jun 26, 2019 3:57 am

Well is it capable of HDR or not?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 31363
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 184 times
Contact:

Re: HDR on H2?

Unread post by odroid » Wed Jun 26, 2019 8:25 am

Pienoet wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 3:57 am
Well is it capable of HDR or not?
No. Intel seems to be blocking the HDR output feature of the Gemini Lake to sell much more expensive i3/i5 products.
https://forums.intel.com/s/question/0D5 ... uage=en_US

Pienoet
Posts: 397
Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 10:04 pm
languages_spoken: english Dutch
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: HDR on H2?

Unread post by Pienoet » Thu Jun 27, 2019 12:06 am

odroid wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 8:25 am
Pienoet wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 3:57 am
Well is it capable of HDR or not?
No. Intel seems to be blocking the HDR output feature of the Gemini Lake to sell much more expensive i3/i5 products.
https://forums.intel.com/s/question/0D5 ... uage=en_US
ok thanks @odroid

fvolk
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: HDR on H2?

Unread post by fvolk » Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:00 am

Hmm.... upcoming Linux 5.3 changes: https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page= ... rings-Navi
>- Meanwhile Intel is ready to go with their HDR support for Icelake and Geminilake

and specifically:
>i915:
>- HDR Support
>drm/i915: Enable infoframes on GLK+ for HDR

...maybe HDR support will come on GLK? Anyone with more info?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 31363
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 184 times
Contact:

Re: HDR on H2?

Unread post by odroid » Tue Jul 16, 2019 8:21 am

Very interesting news. We can confirm it several weeks later probably.
But the latest Intel video driver on Windows still doesn't support the HDR output yet.

Post Reply

Return to “General Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests