H2 not booting to BIOS

Post Reply
baddoggy
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:27 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: H2
Contact:

H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by baddoggy » Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:46 am

Hey folks,

My H2 came in a couple of days ago, and for the life of me I can't get this thing to work.

I'm using the 15v, 4a power supply from Ameridroid, two sticks of 4GB Corsair Vengeance CMSX8GX4M2A2400C16 RAM and a Corsair MP300 NVMe.

When plugged in (and pressing the power button, to be sure), I immediately get two blue and one red light, but no output on the monitor. In order to rule out any funny business there, I've tried HDMI and display port using two separate monitors. I've unplugged everything aside from a single stick of RAM and still get the same result. Additionally, the network and usb ports do not appear to be active. At this point, I'm beginning to wonder if I've got a bad unit. If anyone has any suggestions, I appreciate your input.

Thanks!

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6085
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by rooted » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:29 am

Sounds like your RAM may not be compatible, I would try removing a stick.

Try pressing DEL on the keyboard upon booting.

Jsol
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 6:14 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by Jsol » Wed Dec 12, 2018 6:19 am

I'm having the same exact same issue using a brand new Patriot Signature DDR4 4GB 2400MHz PC4-19200 CL17 SODIMM Memory Module PSD44G240082S. I guess I'll have to order exactly what's been stated as tested. I hope that I don't have a DOA unit.

User avatar
OverSun
Posts: 1402
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:12 pm
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by OverSun » Wed Dec 12, 2018 6:24 am

You can do an easy test to that, remove all boot devices from the board, NVMe's, disks, eMMC, then the board drops right to the BIOS when it cannot boot.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29374
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by odroid » Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:07 am

One RAM module is enough to run the BIOS.
But two blue and one red LEDs are always on regardless of system running.

Jsol
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 6:14 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by Jsol » Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:16 am

I tried booting without any devices connected except USB keyboard and HDMI monitor along with one ram module. I get a blank screen. I tried booting without RAM module as well and still get a blank screen which I think would be the case without RAM. I just ordered a specified supported RAM module. Hopefully I can get bios to boot with different RAM module.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29374
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by odroid » Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:38 am

@Jsol,
I think your CL17 RAM must be compatible.
Where/when did you buy your H2?
BTW, please don't hijack other's thread in the future.

@baddoggy,
Do you still have a booting problem?

baddoggy
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:27 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: H2
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by baddoggy » Wed Dec 12, 2018 3:33 pm

Yep, I'm still having issues. I've ordered a couple of sticks of Samsung RAM on the compatibility list. That should be in tomorrow - I'll report back with how it goes.

baddoggy
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:27 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: H2
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by baddoggy » Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:42 am

Hey all,

Just a quick update. After putting in the Samsung RAM, the BIOS screen popped up without a hitch. The Windows 10 install went smoothly, so now I'll be setting up launchbox and putting this guy in my cocktail arcade cabinet.

Thanks for the help!

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29374
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by odroid » Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:00 pm

Glad to hear Samsung RAM booted well.

BTW, we may need to investigate why your previous Corsair Vengeance DDR4 modules didn't work.
I think we have to check SPD latency parameters as well as normal latency in the BIOS configuration for proper and safer DRAM speed detecting.
https://www.corsair.com/eu/en/Categorie ... M2A2400C16

Jsol
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 6:14 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by Jsol » Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:57 am

My apologies. I didn't mean to hijack thread. Seemed like I was having same exact issue, so I posted in this thread. :D

I ended up ordering another memory module that was on the supported memory list: Samsung 4GB PC4-19200 DDR4-2400MHz non-ECC Unbuffered CL17 260-Pin SoDimm Memory Module Mfr P/N M471A5244CB0-CRC

I received it and replaced the other memory module and I was able to boot into the bios now with no issues. Board seems to be picky with RAM selection. I pre-ordered the board via AmeriDroid and received it about two weeks ago.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29374
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by odroid » Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:40 pm

@Jsol,
Glad to hear you also solved the issue with other DRAM.

We will try to update the BIOS for better RAM compatibility once we receive some problematic DRAM samples.

r2binx
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 6:03 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by r2binx » Sat Dec 22, 2018 3:16 am

oh I wish I would've seen this thread earlier. same ram same problem.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6085
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by rooted » Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:21 am

r2binx wrote:oh I wish I would've seen this thread earlier. same ram same problem.
There is a BIOS update for those with this issue, see this thread

viewtopic.php?t=32941

r2binx
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 6:03 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by r2binx » Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:50 am

rooted wrote:
Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:21 am
r2binx wrote:oh I wish I would've seen this thread earlier. same ram same problem.
There is a BIOS update for those with this issue, see this thread

viewtopic.php?t=32941
thanks, but unfortunately I don't have any other ram modules here so I can't update..

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6085
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by rooted » Sat Dec 22, 2018 5:31 am

r2binx wrote:
rooted wrote:
Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:21 am
r2binx wrote:oh I wish I would've seen this thread earlier. same ram same problem.
There is a BIOS update for those with this issue, see this thread

viewtopic.php?t=32941
thanks, but unfortunately I don't have any other ram modules here so I can't update..
It doesn't work with a single module?

r2binx
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 6:03 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: H2 not booting to BIOS

Unread post by r2binx » Sat Dec 22, 2018 6:06 am

unfortunately not. Tried every combination, just as OP said. Even worse, its basically impossible to get any SODIMMs in retail stores here. what I dont understand is that the exact same module but with 8GB works flawless.
My best bet is the ram of an imac a friend will give me tomorrow.

Post Reply

Return to “General Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests