Rebooting hangs

Post Reply
daviessm
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:14 am
languages_spoken: English, German
ODROIDs: H2
Location: Belfast, UK
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Rebooting hangs

Post by daviessm »

I have an H2 that I've been using for a few years. I recently updated the BIOS to v1.22 and since then when I issue a reboot command from my Linux installation the box shuts down, the screen flickers but the Hardkernel logo doesn't show on the HDMI output and the box does not boot. I can't use the keyboard to get into the BIOS setup or the boot menu without turning the power off and on again.

Has anyone seen this - is there a setting I need to change to make reboots work?

daviessm
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:14 am
languages_spoken: English, German
ODROIDs: H2
Location: Belfast, UK
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Rebooting hangs

Post by daviessm »

Quick update - going back to v1.05 allows the board to reboot but the HDMI output doesn't work after the board comes up again.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 37204
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1712 times
Been thanked: 1118 times
Contact:

Re: Rebooting hangs

Post by odroid »

Reset the BIOS settings and try again.
Also wait several minutes in the first booting process after flashing a new BIOS.

BTW, which DRAM modules have you used?

ntkoopman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 11:30 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Rebooting hangs

Post by ntkoopman »

Which OS are you using? I have the same issue sometimes on the latest BIOS version. I just assumed it was some driver issue during shutdown, since a hdmi driver issue caused something similar to happen previously. Could you try turning the display off and on when it happens?

daviessm
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:14 am
languages_spoken: English, German
ODROIDs: H2
Location: Belfast, UK
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Rebooting hangs

Post by daviessm »

odroid wrote:
Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:36 am
Reset the BIOS settings and try again.
Also wait several minutes in the first booting process after flashing a new BIOS.

BTW, which DRAM modules have you used?
I probably needed to wait more time after rebooting, I never gave it more than a minute before assuming the process was hung upon boot.

Image

This is the very unhelpful output of lshw regarding memory modules.

Code: Select all

     *-memory
          description: System Memory
          physical id: 23
          slot: System board or motherboard
          size: 8GiB
        *-bank:0
             description: Synchronous [empty]
             product: Array1_PartNumber0
             vendor: A1_Manufacturer0
             physical id: 0
             serial: A1_SerNum0
             slot: A1_DIMM0
        *-bank:1
             description: DIMM DDR4 Synchronous 2400 MHz (0.4 ns)
             product: 123456789012345678
             vendor: ABCD
             physical id: 1
             serial: 1234
             slot: A1_DIMM1
             size: 8GiB
             width: 64 bits
             clock: 2400MHz (0.4ns)
As a secondary issue, after reflashing the BIOS the UEFI boot entries for my NVMe drive are gone. I have to boot from a USB stick and re-add them. I'm confused how entries from a bootable USB drive show up but not the NVMe.
ntkoopman wrote:
Tue Apr 06, 2021 4:21 pm
Which OS are you using?
Gentoo Linux - so most of the boot configuration was done by hand.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 37204
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1712 times
Been thanked: 1118 times
Contact:

Re: Rebooting hangs

Post by odroid »

You probably needed to use 'efibootmgr' once you changed the BIOS.
viewtopic.php?p=297226#p297226

daviessm
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:14 am
languages_spoken: English, German
ODROIDs: H2
Location: Belfast, UK
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Rebooting hangs

Post by daviessm »

Yep, I did, once I booted into a working system. But why does the BIOS see the entries on a USB stick but not NVMe?

fvolk
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, C4, H2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 67 times
Contact:

Re: Rebooting hangs

Post by fvolk »

daviessm wrote:
Tue Apr 06, 2021 6:58 pm
why does the BIOS see the entries on a USB stick but not NVMe?
"entries"?
multiple boot loaders or multiple entries in one boot manager (e.g. Grub)?

daviessm
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:14 am
languages_spoken: English, German
ODROIDs: H2
Location: Belfast, UK
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Rebooting hangs

Post by daviessm »

Multiple boot loaders. It shows e.g. SanDisk Cruzer (UEFI) and SanDisk Cruzer (UEFI) Partition 2. Is there a way to get a fallback to something on the NVMe like that?

fvolk
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, C4, H2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 67 times
Contact:

Re: Rebooting hangs

Post by fvolk »

daviessm wrote:
Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:36 pm
Multiple boot loaders. It shows e.g. SanDisk Cruzer (UEFI) and SanDisk Cruzer (UEFI) Partition 2. Is there a way to get a fallback to something on the NVMe like that?
One EFI system partition per device and one "default" bootloader location per partition that always shows up, see also viewtopic.php?p=292246#p292246
Any additional boot loaders on the same device are custom boot order entries and saved in NVRAM.
Therefore, moving of physical devices or modification of NVRAM (e.g. UEFI upgrade) breaks boot order entries, only the default path on each device's EFI partition is always available.

One robust way to boot is probably to put Grub boot file in default path on one EFI partition, put Grub supplemental files and grub.cfg on same device (this is not always the default in common Linux installers...) and then provide selection via Grub menu?

daviessm
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:14 am
languages_spoken: English, German
ODROIDs: H2
Location: Belfast, UK
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Rebooting hangs

Post by daviessm »

Just what I was looking for, thanks. So in theory copying grubx64.efi to \EFI\boot\bootx64.efi should allow it to always show up even when the NVRAM has been cleared.

fvolk
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, C4, H2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 67 times
Contact:

Re: Rebooting hangs

Post by fvolk »

daviessm wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 3:11 am
Just what I was looking for, thanks. So in theory copying grubx64.efi to \EFI\boot\bootx64.efi should allow it to always show up even when the NVRAM has been cleared.
I install everything manually, as BIOS and UEFI compatible, and only one default bootloader for each, and that is the same Grub:
viewtopic.php?p=322598#p322598

...so far it works (disclaimer: so far. I don't deliberately stress test...)

Good luck :-)

Post Reply

Return to “General Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest