Supply voltage

Post Reply
ASword
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:48 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, HC1
Contact:

Supply voltage

Unread post by ASword » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:22 am

The N-1 includes DC conversion that accepts 6-18v input. This is nice and flexible, but in my application I already have a high amperage 5v source (converted from a very high power master 24v source) which powers the HC-1 currently in use, among other things. I would rather have the option of bypassing the on board buck converter and feeding 5v directly. Would it be possible to provide a bypass jumper on the board to allow this to be done? I don’t care about having unused components on the board, but going through multiple conversions does decrease overall efficiency.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29326
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Supply voltage

Unread post by odroid » Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:10 am

Because the DCDC converter on the N1 board supports 100% duty-ratio with the PWM controller, it works with 5Volt if the PSU output voltage is 5.2volt or higher.
I've just tested it with SmartPower at 5.25Volt setting.

Can you slightly adjust your converter output voltage to 5.3V?

ASword
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:48 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, HC1
Contact:

Re: Supply voltage

Unread post by ASword » Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:52 pm

odroid wrote:Can you slightly adjust your converter output voltage to 5.3V?
Unfortunately no, it isn’t adjustable and I’m not sure the other things I am powering from it aren’t amenable to higher voltage.

elatllat
Posts: 1110
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 8:54 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, N1
Contact:

Re: Supply voltage

Unread post by elatllat » Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:48 pm

ASword wrote:...DC conversion ... efficiency.
quantitatively would that be 0.15W (5% of 3W)?

ASword
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:48 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, HC1
Contact:

Re: Supply voltage

Unread post by ASword » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:30 am

elatllat wrote:
ASword wrote:...DC conversion ... efficiency.
quantitatively would that be 0.15W (5% of 3W)?
It’s worse than that because I don’t have an efficient 6-18v source. I have a 24->15.5v converter (600W) for other components that I’m hoping to remove from my system. Adding more devices that use it goes against that goal, and at low loads it is only about 90% efficient. Also, my odroid carries a continuous load, it isn’t idle.

ludwich
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:46 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: C1
Contact:

Re: Supply voltage

Unread post by ludwich » Sat Feb 17, 2018 4:38 pm

The Range of the powersupply is great, but optimize it to a 19 V - the standard notebook supply voltage. Thats a great benefit for the users!

ludwich

With a big box of old laptop powersupplys

crashoverride
Posts: 4168
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:42 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Contact:

Re: Supply voltage

Unread post by crashoverride » Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:42 am

ludwich wrote:but optimize it to a 19 V - the standard notebook supply voltage
How about offering an adapter instead? The 12V supply means I can power boards, drives, etc from a variety of supply sources. The 19V is far less diverse in its offerings (brick only).

ASword
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:48 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, HC1
Contact:

Re: Supply voltage

Unread post by ASword » Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:56 am

Yeah, I wasn't suggesting a change to the powersupply on the board (although supporting up to 24v would also solve my issue). I was just hoping for a jumper that would bypass it and allow me to feed a solid 5v directly to the board from my own powersupply.

RomaT
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
RockPro64 4GB (RK3399)
ASUS H310T ITX G5500
Location: Perm, Russia
Contact:

Re: Supply voltage

Unread post by RomaT » Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:38 pm

According to the scheme -N1, "DC_JACK" it is connected to two chips:
NB680GD and NB679GD, from the description of which:
Supply voltage .............................. 4.8 V to 24 V absolute maximum 28V
Supply voltage .............................. 5.5 V to 24 V absolute maximum 28V
accordingly, it is possible input voltage 5.5 V to 24 V absolute maximum 28V
where did the range 6-18v come from ?
Is it due to input capacitors or are there other underwater stones on the PCB ?
odroid wrote:Because the DCDC converter on the N1 board supports 100% duty-ratio with the PWM controller
you compose up something, half-bridge synchronous Converter can not work at 100% duty cycle,
his upper the shoulder can not be permanently turned on ...
it has just an internal Switching, short circuit input with output.
in point of fact - That's what it is the jumper bypassing of the converter.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware and peripherals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest