Qubes OS

Moderators: mdrjr, odroid

Qubes OS

Unread postby elatllat » Thu May 10, 2018 2:25 am

Qubes OS seems like a good fit for N1 desktop use.
If anyone gets around to trying the build instructions before I do let me know.
elatllat
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 8:54 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, N1

Re: Qubes OS

Unread postby rooted » Sat May 12, 2018 6:13 am

In order to use it, one should use an rpm-based distro, like Fedora :)


This alone turns me off.

Reading hardware requirements it is 64-bit Intel or AMD processor (x86_64 aka x64 aka AMD64) only.
User avatar
rooted
 
Posts: 5144
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2
XU3 Lite, XU4
N1
VU7+
HiFi Shield 2
Smart Power (original)

Re: Qubes OS

Unread postby elatllat » Sat May 12, 2018 6:27 am

Where there is a will there is a long hard path... I mean a way.
But I suspect the documentation is misleading in that respect (just written by a fedora evangelist),
and I have never seen accurate hardware requirements anywhere.
The Demo video shows Debian in one of the VMs, and everything is in a VM so if there is some unusual dependency on fedora it would not really impact the user.
elatllat
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 8:54 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, N1

Re: Qubes OS

Unread postby rooted » Sat May 12, 2018 7:02 am

I just meant RPM, any RPM based distribution I don't like.

If you get it [emoji125] let me know.
User avatar
rooted
 
Posts: 5144
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2
XU3 Lite, XU4
N1
VU7+
HiFi Shield 2
Smart Power (original)


Return to Other OS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests