Video players

AreaScout
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:05 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U3, XU3, C2, HiFi Shield, XU4, XU4Q,
N1, Go, VU5A, Show2, CloudShell2,
H2, N2, VU7A, VuShell, Go2, C4
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by AreaScout »

ok, i don't have that kernel patch reported here viewtopic.php?f=150&t=30162#p215446, do you have that ?

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

AreaScout wrote:ok, i don't have that kernel patch reported here viewtopic.php?f=150&t=30162#p215446, do you have that ?
sudo chmod 666 /dev/cec0

I don't have a physical keyboard attached, I have a USB remote/mouse/keyboard.

I think it may be related to Kodi thinking it's windowed? In Settings > System Information > Summary does yours say Screen resolution 3840x2160 - Windowed

AreaScout
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:05 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U3, XU3, C2, HiFi Shield, XU4, XU4Q,
N1, Go, VU5A, Show2, CloudShell2,
H2, N2, VU7A, VuShell, Go2, C4
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by AreaScout »

rooted wrote:sudo chmod 666 /dev/cec0

I don't have a physical keyboard attached, I have a USB remote/mouse/keyboard.
that did the trick, thx :)
rooted wrote: I think it may be related to Kodi thinking it's windowed? In Settings > System Information > Summary does yours say Screen resolution 3840x2160 - Windowed
It says 1920x1080 - Windowed, my TV is 1080p, so 4k is all down scaled

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

I verify 4K@60fps is flawless, as is 4K@30fps. Both play with minimum CPU usage (relatively speaking).

This is while playing Big Buck Bunny 4K@60fpsImage

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

I just noticed by looking at my screenshot that Xorg is running as root, that's not normal is it?

AreaScout
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:05 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U3, XU3, C2, HiFi Shield, XU4, XU4Q,
N1, Go, VU5A, Show2, CloudShell2,
H2, N2, VU7A, VuShell, Go2, C4
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by AreaScout »

rooted wrote:I just noticed by looking at my screenshot that Xorg is running as root, that's not normal is it?
yes that seem's to be normal

are you using ssh on you smart phone ? hahaha :lol:

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

AreaScout wrote:
rooted wrote:I just noticed by looking at my screenshot that Xorg is running as root, that's not normal is it?
yes that seem's to be normal

are you using ssh on you smart phone ? hahaha Image
That's how I always do it, I rarely use my PC.

AreaScout
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:05 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U3, XU3, C2, HiFi Shield, XU4, XU4Q,
N1, Go, VU5A, Show2, CloudShell2,
H2, N2, VU7A, VuShell, Go2, C4
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by AreaScout »

rooted wrote:That's how I always do it, I rarely use my PC.
cool 8-)

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

I'm getting random blackscreen but it isn't a crash, no big deal as this is alpha.

I said I was playing 4K@60fps but it was downscaled to 1080p, not a N1 issue it's due to Kodi not seeing this mode on my TV.

I played a 4K HDR clip, it played fine as well but didn't put my TV into HDR, but expected not to.

AreaScout
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:05 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U3, XU3, C2, HiFi Shield, XU4, XU4Q,
N1, Go, VU5A, Show2, CloudShell2,
H2, N2, VU7A, VuShell, Go2, C4
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by AreaScout »

rooted wrote:I'm getting random blackscreen but it isn't a crash, no big deal as this is alpha.
i also have those black screens, it's when i start a movie, sometimes display stays black but it is playing, when i press stop and replay the movie then it get's solved

User avatar
OverSun
Posts: 1493
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:12 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by OverSun »

the drmprime renderer is far from perfect. it’s just very new

AreaScout
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:05 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U3, XU3, C2, HiFi Shield, XU4, XU4Q,
N1, Go, VU5A, Show2, CloudShell2,
H2, N2, VU7A, VuShell, Go2, C4
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by AreaScout »

OverSun wrote:the drmprime renderer is far from perfect. it’s just very new
while it's in Alpha state i really like it :)

elatllat
Posts: 1897
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 8:54 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, N1, N2, C4, N2+, HC4
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 139 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by elatllat »

I updated the OP to reflect a mostly working kodi.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

I have been doing more Kodi testing, for my use it's not great.

I pulled the code for pvr-hts and inputstream.adaptive which built and works fine.

I use tvheadend for my PVR backend, anyway there is no hardware decoding for mpeg2 currently and SW decode for interlaced content isn't smooth even though it isn't coming close to maxing CPU usage.

I tried using inputstream.adaptive for Amazon VOD but apparently there still isn't the possibility for 64bit libwidevine which is required for DRM.

So my two major uses for Kodi are shot down as it stands.

Keep in mind the libwidevine issue is on all 64bit ARM devices, not just the N1.

Things that do work (I've tested):

* automatic framerate/resolution change
* brightness/contrast adjustments
* 4K@30fps hevc in 4K and anything lower
* 1080p@60fps h264 and anything lower

Things that don't work:

* mpeg2 hardware decode
* inputstream.adaptive (libwidevine)

Things that need tested:

* 4K@60fps hevc
* VP9
* 4K h264
Last edited by rooted on Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
meveric
Posts: 11974
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:41 pm
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U2, U3, XU-Lite, XU3, XU3-Lite, C1, XU4, C2, C1+, XU4Q, HC1, N1, Go, H2 (N4100), N2, H2 (J4105), GoA, C4, GoA v1.1, H2+, HC4, GoS
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 639 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by meveric »

rooted wrote:I tried using inputstream.adaptive for Amazon VOD but apparently there still isn't the possibility for 64bit libwidevine which is required for DRM.
Why don't you use armhf instead?
The N1 is the only board that we have that can seamlessly switch between arm64 and armhf with both sets fully working.
Donate to support my work on the ODROID GameStation Turbo Image for U2/U3 XU3/XU4 X2 X C1 as well as many other releases.
Check out the Games and Emulators section to find some of my work or check the files in my repository to find the software i build for ODROIDs.
If you want to add my repository to your image read my HOWTO integrate my repo into your image.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

meveric wrote:
rooted wrote:I tried using inputstream.adaptive for Amazon VOD but apparently there still isn't the possibility for 64bit libwidevine which is required for DRM.
Why don't you use armhf instead?
The N1 is the only board that we have that can seamlessly switch between arm64 and armhf with both sets fully working.
I didn't know I could mate, how?

elatllat
Posts: 1897
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 8:54 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, N1, N2, C4, N2+, HC4
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 139 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by elatllat »

rooted wrote:...no hardware decoding for mpeg2...
converting to H.265 should save you some space.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

elatllat wrote:
rooted wrote:...no hardware decoding for mpeg2...
converting to H.265 should save you some space.
I'm talking about live TV, ATSC broadcast.

AreaScout
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:05 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U3, XU3, C2, HiFi Shield, XU4, XU4Q,
N1, Go, VU5A, Show2, CloudShell2,
H2, N2, VU7A, VuShell, Go2, C4
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by AreaScout »

If X11 is running, the mouse cursor will stay on top of each video, this is annoying, i have fixed it with a hack, but after closing Kodi you have to either move the mouse over an already opened window or move desktop and back with ALT+F1 and ALT+F7 to redraw the mouse, is there a way to manipulate the z position of the cursor plane in drm ?

Code: Select all

diff --git a/xbmc/windowing/gbm/DRMUtils.cpp b/xbmc/windowing/gbm/DRMUtils.cpp
index 09a2be1125..f8aaa15af0 100644
--- a/xbmc/windowing/gbm/DRMUtils.cpp
+++ b/xbmc/windowing/gbm/DRMUtils.cpp
@@ -625,6 +625,11 @@ void CDRMUtils::DestroyDrm()
   m_primary_plane = nullptr;
 }

+void CDRMUtils::DisableCursor()
+{
+  drmModeSetCursor(m_fd, m_crtc->crtc->crtc_id, 0, 0, 0);
+}
+
 bool CDRMUtils::GetModes(std::vector<RESOLUTION_INFO> &resolutions)
 {
   for(auto i = 0; i < m_connector->connector->count_modes; i++)
diff --git a/xbmc/windowing/gbm/DRMUtils.h b/xbmc/windowing/gbm/DRMUtils.h
index 83dcb743d0..4db3750ef6 100644
--- a/xbmc/windowing/gbm/DRMUtils.h
+++ b/xbmc/windowing/gbm/DRMUtils.h
@@ -70,6 +70,8 @@ public:
   virtual bool SetVideoMode(RESOLUTION_INFO res, struct gbm_bo *bo) { return false; };
   virtual bool InitDrm();
   virtual void DestroyDrm();
+  virtual void DisableCursor();
   virtual void DisableVideoLayer() {};

   bool GetModes(std::vector<RESOLUTION_INFO> &resolutions);
   bool SetMode(RESOLUTION_INFO res);
diff --git a/xbmc/windowing/gbm/WinSystemGbm.cpp b/xbmc/windowing/gbm/WinSystemGbm.cpp
index 854040f6fa..d3b397fc54 100644
--- a/xbmc/windowing/gbm/WinSystemGbm.cpp
+++ b/xbmc/windowing/gbm/WinSystemGbm.cpp
@@ -95,6 +95,8 @@ bool CWinSystemGbm::InitWindowSystem()

   m_nativeDisplay = m_GBM->m_device;

+  m_DRM->DisableCursor();
+
   CLog::Log(LOGDEBUG, "CWinSystemGbm::%s - initialized DRM", __FUNCTION__);
   return CWinSystemBase::InitWindowSystem();
 }
Last edited by AreaScout on Sat Mar 10, 2018 10:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

I just put the cursor in the bottom left where it's invisible on my display.

AreaScout
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:05 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U3, XU3, C2, HiFi Shield, XU4, XU4Q,
N1, Go, VU5A, Show2, CloudShell2,
H2, N2, VU7A, VuShell, Go2, C4
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by AreaScout »

rooted wrote:I just put the cursor in the bottom left where it's invisible on my display.
there is no way the mouse stays in the bottom corner when the cat jumps around the table :lol:

AreaScout
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:05 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U3, XU3, C2, HiFi Shield, XU4, XU4Q,
N1, Go, VU5A, Show2, CloudShell2,
H2, N2, VU7A, VuShell, Go2, C4
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by AreaScout »

i also add some more file extension Kodi should support .h265 and .hevc

Code: Select all

diff --git a/xbmc/settings/AdvancedSettings.cpp b/xbmc/settings/AdvancedSettings.cpp
index bad75f3b27..2a65edca23 100644
--- a/xbmc/settings/AdvancedSettings.cpp
+++ b/xbmc/settings/AdvancedSettings.cpp
@@ -382,7 +382,7 @@ void CAdvancedSettings::Initialize()

   m_pictureExtensions = ".png|.jpg|.jpeg|.bmp|.gif|.ico|.tif|.tiff|.tga|.pcx|.cbz|.zip|.rss|.webp|.jp2|.apng";
   m_musicExtensions = ".nsv|.m4a|.flac|.aac|.strm|.pls|.rm|.rma|.mpa|.wav|.wma|.ogg|.mp3|.mp2|.m3u|.gdm|.imf|.m15|.sfx|.uni|.ac3|.dts|.cue|.aif|.aiff|.wpl|.ape|.mac|.mpc|.mp+|.mpp|.shn|.zip|.wv|.dsp|.xsp|.xwav|.waa|.wvs|.wam|.gcm|.idsp|.mpdsp|.mss|.spt|.rsd|.sap|.cmc|.cmr|.dmc|.mpt|.mpd|.rmt|.tmc|.tm8|.tm2|.oga|.url|.pxml|.tta|.rss|.wtv|.mka|.tak|.opus|.dff|.dsf|.m4b";
-  m_videoExtensions = ".m4v|.3g2|.3gp|.nsv|.tp|.ts|.ty|.strm|.pls|.rm|.rmvb|.mpd|.m3u|.m3u8|.ifo|.mov|.qt|.divx|.xvid|.bivx|.vob|.nrg|.img|.iso|.udf|.pva|.wmv|.asf|.asx|.ogm|.m2v|.avi|.bin|.dat|.mpg|.mpeg|.mp4|.mkv|.mk3d|.avc|.vp3|.svq3|.nuv|.viv|.dv|.fli|.flv|.001|.wpl|.zip|.vdr|.dvr-ms|.xsp|.mts|.m2t|.m2ts|.evo|.ogv|.sdp|.avs|.rec|.url|.pxml|.vc1|.h264|.rcv|.rss|.mpls|.webm|.bdmv|.wtv|.trp|.f4v";
+  m_videoExtensions = ".m4v|.3g2|.3gp|.nsv|.tp|.ts|.ty|.strm|.pls|.rm|.rmvb|.mpd|.m3u|.m3u8|.ifo|.mov|.qt|.divx|.xvid|.bivx|.vob|.nrg|.img|.iso|.udf|.pva|.wmv|.asf|.asx|.ogm|.m2v|.avi|.bin|.dat|.mpg|.mpeg|.mp4|.mkv|.mk3d|.avc|.vp3|.svq3|.nuv|.viv|.dv|.fli|.flv|.001|.wpl|.zip|.vdr|.dvr-ms|.xsp|.mts|.m2t|.m2ts|.evo|.ogv|.sdp|.avs|.rec|.url|.pxml|.vc1|.h264|.h265|.hevc|.rcv|.rss|.mpls|.webm|.bdmv|.wtv|.trp|.f4v";
   m_subtitlesExtensions = ".utf|.utf8|.utf-8|.sub|.srt|.smi|.rt|.txt|.ssa|.text|.ssa|.aqt|.jss|.ass|.idx|.ifo|.zip";
   m_discStubExtensions = ".disc";
   // internal music extensions

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

AreaScout wrote:
rooted wrote:I just put the cursor in the bottom left where it's invisible on my display.
there is no way the mouse stays in the bottom corner when the cat jumps around the table Image
I'm using a remote with gyro, no issues here Image

AreaScout
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:05 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U3, XU3, C2, HiFi Shield, XU4, XU4Q,
N1, Go, VU5A, Show2, CloudShell2,
H2, N2, VU7A, VuShell, Go2, C4
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by AreaScout »

rooted wrote: Things that need tested:

* 4K@60fps hevc
* VP9
* 4K h264
i have tested 4K@60fps hevc and 4K h264, it works but this was all down scaled to 1080p

AreaScout
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:05 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U3, XU3, C2, HiFi Shield, XU4, XU4Q,
N1, Go, VU5A, Show2, CloudShell2,
H2, N2, VU7A, VuShell, Go2, C4
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by AreaScout »

rooted wrote:I'm using a remote with gyro, no issues here Image
fuahaha :lol:

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

AreaScout wrote:
rooted wrote: Things that need tested:

* 4K@60fps hevc
* VP9
* 4K h264
i have tested 4K@60fps hevc and 4K h264, it works but this was all down scaled to 1080p
I did as well, same method.

On my display Kodi ignores 4K@60fps resolution so there is no way for me to test it in 4K, according to my edid my TV defaults to 4K@30fps even though it is a 4K@60fps native display. So inside Kodi this resolution is missing and CEC changes the resolution to 4K@30fps after launching from within Xorg.

AreaScout
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:05 am
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U3, XU3, C2, HiFi Shield, XU4, XU4Q,
N1, Go, VU5A, Show2, CloudShell2,
H2, N2, VU7A, VuShell, Go2, C4
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 426 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by AreaScout »

rooted wrote: On my display Kodi ignores 4K@60fps resolution so there is no way for me to test it in 4K, according to my edid my TV defaults to 4K@30fps even though it is a 4K@60fps native display. So inside Kodi this resolution is missing and CEC changes the resolution to 4K@30fps after launching from within Xorg.
have you tried systemctl set-default multi-user.target to boot without X11 and try to play 4k60 movie ? with systemctl set-default graphical.target you could get back to x11 environment

User avatar
OverSun
Posts: 1493
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:12 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by OverSun »

it seems there were a change recently in kodi alpha that significantly reduced the load in the drmprime renderer, so yeah it seems now the load has improved a lot.

User avatar
meveric
Posts: 11974
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:41 pm
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U2, U3, XU-Lite, XU3, XU3-Lite, C1, XU4, C2, C1+, XU4Q, HC1, N1, Go, H2 (N4100), N2, H2 (J4105), GoA, C4, GoA v1.1, H2+, HC4, GoS
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 639 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by meveric »

rooted wrote:
meveric wrote:
rooted wrote:I tried using inputstream.adaptive for Amazon VOD but apparently there still isn't the possibility for 64bit libwidevine which is required for DRM.
Why don't you use armhf instead?
The N1 is the only board that we have that can seamlessly switch between arm64 and armhf with both sets fully working.
I didn't know I could mate, how?
"Simple" just compile everything for armhf. Kodi is opensource and you can simply build it for armhf, modsetting (the framebuffer driver) comes directly from the OS so it's available on armhf and arm64.
armsoc drivers can also be compiled for armhf. libMali driver blobs are also available for both arm64 and armhf (which is why we can fully use the board under armhf as well).
Nothing stands in the way to simply run armhf software either by adding it as a foreign architecture (dpkg --add-architecture armhf) or using a armhf only image (with arm64 Kernel).
Donate to support my work on the ODROID GameStation Turbo Image for U2/U3 XU3/XU4 X2 X C1 as well as many other releases.
Check out the Games and Emulators section to find some of my work or check the files in my repository to find the software i build for ODROIDs.
If you want to add my repository to your image read my HOWTO integrate my repo into your image.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

meveric wrote:
rooted wrote:
meveric wrote:
rooted wrote:I tried using inputstream.adaptive for Amazon VOD but apparently there still isn't the possibility for 64bit libwidevine which is required for DRM.
Why don't you use armhf instead?
The N1 is the only board that we have that can seamlessly switch between arm64 and armhf with both sets fully working.
I didn't know I could mate, how?
"Simple" just compile everything for armhf. Kodi is opensource and you can simply build it for armhf, modsetting (the framebuffer driver) comes directly from the OS so it's available on armhf and arm64.
armsoc drivers can also be compiled for armhf. libMali driver blobs are also available for both arm64 and armhf (which is why we can fully use the board under armhf as well).
Nothing stands in the way to simply run armhf software either by adding it as a foreign architecture (dpkg --add-architecture armhf) or using a armhf only image (with arm64 Kernel).
It's not that important, if it were less time consuming perhaps. I have plenty of devices that can run Kodi, I was more testing for others who would be curious about it.

captainN2+
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 04, 2022 6:08 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: FOUR N2+
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by captainN2+ »

I personally find mpeg2 artifacts less distracting than the weird stuff h265 spits out. Also, any space-saving that transcoding might give you is going to be lossy, so not a good option for an archive of old home movies from DVDs. It seems absurd that a RPi 3 (with mpeg2 license) can play these old DVD VOB mpeg2 files better than a brand spanking new N2+ that can play 4k HDR stuff without any problems.

Anyway, fwiw, neither c2play nor kplayer work at all on my bone-stock (with apt upgrade run) emmc card direct from hardkernel and plugged into my brand new N2+, so I can't be alone in my frustration here.

Installing coreelec does allow nice smooth playback of 1080p and 4k stuff, but still fails on old mpeg2, so I hope someone will solve this. Ideally, we'd have a command line program that would just play ALL formats perfectly, using the hardware decoder. Right? ;-)_

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9962
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 777 times
Been thanked: 574 times
Contact:

Re: Video players

Post by rooted »

I don't have any issues playing ripped DVDs on the N2 or N2+.

Post Reply

Return to “Ubuntu/Debian”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest