howto proof of working?

Post Reply
fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

howto proof of working?

Unread post by fvolk » Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:23 pm

I finally got my 3.5 LCD shield
I can load the kernel modules

Code: Select all

[  112.618596] aml_i2c version: 20140813
[  112.619046] aml-i2c c1108500.i2c: add adapter aml_i2c_adap1(ffffffc0581668e0)
[  112.628397] sx865x 2-0049: sx865x_probe()
[  112.630493] sx865x 2-0049: swap_xy (1)
[  112.630505] sx865x 2-0049: invert_x (0)
[  112.630511] sx865x 2-0049: invert_y (1)
[  112.630516] sx865x 2-0049: gpio pendown (218)
[  112.630521] sx865x 2-0049: gpio reset (224)
[  112.630525] sx865x 2-0049: gpio irq (96)
[  112.631472] input: SX865X Touchscreen as /devices/i2c-2/2-0049/input/input2
[  112.631672] sx865x 2-0049: probe ok! registered with irq (96)
[  112.631708] aml-i2c c11087c0.i2c: add adapter aml_i2c_adap2(ffffffc058a608e0)
[  112.652883] meson_pwm pwm: register pwm device.. meson_pwm_probe
[  112.672688] pwm-ctrl pwm-ctrl: cannot export to PWM-1 : modprobe pwm-meson npwm=2
[  112.704010] fbtft_device:  SPI devices registered:
[  112.704025] fbtft_device:  'fb' Platform devices registered:
[  112.704061] fbtft_device:      meson-fb id=-1 pdata? no
[  112.704277] fbtft_device:  GPIOS used by 'flexpfb':
[  112.705143] fbtft_device:    'reset' = GPIO247
[  112.705153] fbtft_device:    'dc' = GPIO228
[  112.705157] fbtft_device:    'wr' = GPIO229
[  112.705161] fbtft_device:    'cs' = GPIO238
[  112.705165] fbtft_device:    'db00' = GPIO233
[  112.705168] fbtft_device:    'db01' = GPIO231
[  112.705171] fbtft_device:    'db02' = GPIO236
[  112.705175] fbtft_device:    'db03' = GPIO230
[  112.705178] fbtft_device:    'db04' = GPIO232
[  112.705181] fbtft_device:    'db05' = GPIO235
[  112.705185] fbtft_device:    'db06' = GPIO237
[  112.705188] fbtft_device:    'db07' = GPIO239
[  112.705191] fbtft_device:  'fb' Platform devices registered:
[  112.705223] fbtft_device:      meson-fb id=-1 pdata? no
[  112.705276] fbtft_device:      flexpfb id=0 pdata? yes
[  113.081802] graphics fb2: flexfb frame buffer, 480x320, 300 KiB video memory, 4 KiB DMA buffer memory, fps=20
The 4 buttons are working.
I can enable the LCD and change brightness.
However, the LCD only displays white and nothing else.

I tried the "mplayer bigbuckbunny" test
as well as "cat /dev/urandom > /dev/fb2",
as well as moving a console to the LCD display according to the HK Wiki.

Question:
How to do a basic check whether this is a software problem or a hardware problem? - I'm asking because I received the hardware package with the tape cut open....

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by fvolk » Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:03 pm

C2 with kernel 3.14.79-116
official Ubuntu minimal, all packages updated

init script

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe aml_i2c
sudo modprobe pwm-meson
sudo modprobe pwm-ctrl
sudo modprobe fbtft_device name=flexpfb rotate=270
sudo modprobe flexfb chip=ili9488
sudo modprobe sx865x

cat /sys/class/graphics/fb2/name

echo 500000 | sudo tee /sys/devices/platform/pwm-ctrl/freq0
echo 1 | sudo tee /sys/devices/platform/pwm-ctrl/enable0
echo 1023 | sudo tee /sys/devices/platform/pwm-ctrl/duty0
Attachments
lcd_white.jpg
lcd_white.jpg (21.4 KiB) Viewed 2662 times

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5114
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon Oct 09, 2017 12:17 am

Hmm. Are you running a stock image? Maybe you've loaded some modules that take over some gpio pins. Do you get any error in dmesg? Can you also try with a stock image and @fourdee's 3.5" installation script?
There is also a cat /sys/class/gpio/debug which tells you which gpios are in use.

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by fvolk » Mon Oct 09, 2017 12:59 am

mad_ady wrote:Hmm. Are you running a stock image? Maybe you've loaded some modules that take over some gpio pins. Do you get any error in dmesg? Can you also try with a stock image and @fourdee's 3.5" installation script?
There is also a cat /sys/class/gpio/debug which tells you which gpios are in use.
I started with a fresh image and just did apt update+upgrade+dist-upgrade...

Code: Select all

# cat /sys/class/gpio/debug
cat: /sys/class/gpio/debug: No such file or directory
# ls  /sys/class/gpio/
export  gpiochip122  gpiochip136  unexport

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5114
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:40 am

Try

/sys/kernel/debug/gpio

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by fvolk » Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:09 am

Code: Select all

# cat /sys/kernel/debug/gpio
GPIOs 122-135, platform/c1109880.pinmux, ao-bank:
 gpio-125 (amlsd               ) out hi    
 gpio-127 (?                   ) in  lo    
 gpio-135 (blue:heartbeat      ) out hi    

GPIOs 136-255, platform/c1109880.pinmux, banks:
 gpio-150 (rst_pin             ) in  hi    
 gpio-165 (amlsd               ) out hi    
 gpio-180 (amlsd               ) in  lo    
 gpio-218 (ts-pendown          ) in  hi    
 gpio-223 (amlsd               ) out hi    
 gpio-224 (ts-reset            ) out hi    
 gpio-228 (flexfb              ) out hi    
 gpio-229 (flexfb              ) out hi    
 gpio-230 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-231 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-232 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-233 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-235 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-236 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-237 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-238 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-239 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-247 (flexfb              ) out hi    
 gpio-249 (w1                  ) in  hi

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5114
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:35 am

Ok, I see you have onewire using a gpio. Try to blacklist the w1 and wire modules (remove them from /etc/modules, blacklist them in /etc/modprobe.d/*) and reboot.

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by fvolk » Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:43 am

deleted .../kernel/drivers/w1

Code: Select all

# lsmod |grep w1
root@odroid64:~# cat /sys/kernel/debug/gpio
GPIOs 122-135, platform/c1109880.pinmux, ao-bank:
 gpio-125 (amlsd               ) out hi    
 gpio-127 (?                   ) in  lo    
 gpio-135 (blue:heartbeat      ) out hi    

GPIOs 136-255, platform/c1109880.pinmux, banks:
 gpio-150 (rst_pin             ) in  hi    
 gpio-165 (amlsd               ) out hi    
 gpio-180 (amlsd               ) in  lo    
 gpio-218 (ts-pendown          ) in  hi    
 gpio-223 (amlsd               ) out hi    
 gpio-224 (ts-reset            ) out hi    
 gpio-228 (flexfb              ) out hi    
 gpio-229 (flexfb              ) out hi    
 gpio-230 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-231 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-232 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-233 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-235 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-236 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-237 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-238 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-239 (flexfb              ) out lo    
 gpio-247 (flexfb              ) out hi
249 is no longer w1, but change :-/

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by odroid » Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:21 am

Can you show us "lsmod" output?

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by fvolk » Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:49 pm

Code: Select all

# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
flexfb                 16664  0
fbtft_device           35879  0
fbtft                  37815  2 flexfb,fbtft_device
syscopyarea             2825  1 fbtft
sysfillrect             3723  1 fbtft
sysimgblt               1933  1 fbtft
fb_sys_fops             1357  1 fbtft
pwm_ctrl                6707  0
pwm_meson               4570  1
joydev                 11039  0
sx865x                  5235  0
aml_i2c                16898  0
meson_gpiomem           4024  0
gxbb_wdt                3427  0
ipv6                  376636  16
autofs4                28111  2

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5114
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:03 pm

Is there anything unusual in dmesg when you insert the modules?

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by fvolk » Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:13 pm

See dmesg output in first posting.

I'm asking for help because I have nothing to compare to.
May I did something wrong and it is an installation problem/typo somewhere,
but maybe I got a pre-used unit which was already sent back once because it really is broken...

Note this is a headless minimal server, so no X, just remote login.
What's the cheapest way to change any pixel on the screen to test correct function?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by odroid » Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:03 pm

Your test process seems to be fine.
We will try it on the same latest kernel tomorrow.

Did you buy it from us directly? or distributor?

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by fvolk » Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:30 am

I started from

Code: Select all

7fd4fd8fa21379721cb5726c4fae1cfb  ubuntu64-16.04-minimal-odroid-c2-20160815.img
remote login, upgraded all packages+kernel to current, reboot+remote login again and run lcd init script see first post.

Bought @Pollin. The tape on the box was on one side already opened, so that's why I'm curious whether I actually got a new unit....
Attachments
lcd_open.jpg
lcd_open.jpg (23.03 KiB) Viewed 2396 times

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by odroid » Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:32 pm

Normally we don't attach any tape on the box.
I am not sure whether Pollin attached it or not.

Anyway, we will test the 3.5inch LCD driver functionality on Kernel 3.14.79-116 soon.
Please give us one more day since we've just returned from 10days of national holiday.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5114
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by mad_ady » Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:32 pm

Can you try the installation script without updating the system? Though my 3.5" lcd runs on a fully updated C2

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by fvolk » Wed Oct 18, 2017 3:11 am

Started fresh, this time from ubuntu64-16.04.2lts-mate-odroid-c2-20170301.img
Initially boots up with desktop on HDMI.
Run install_odroid_LCD35.sh 1
Reboot
Boot is on HDMI, then HDMI goes black and LCD switches on.
...but only shows white :-/

apt update+upgrade+dist-upgrade.
Now on 3.14.79-116
Same :-/

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by odroid » Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:13 am

Sorry for late reply.
We tested it with Kernel 3.14.79-116 and it worked.

Your LCD board or C2 40pin header seems to have a hardware issue.
Please contact "Pollin" with a link of this thread to replace it.

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by fvolk » Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:35 am

Received replacement, attached it, booted identical microSD card and.... just works - see photo.

Considering 1) Pollin sent me an already opened package first time 2) the time I initially wasted to get it to work 3) it took them ~2 months for a replacement....
Attachments
lcd_new.jpg
lcd_new.jpg (48.29 KiB) Viewed 1832 times

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by fvolk » Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:01 am

Unfortunately, one button appears to be broken on this one:
root@odroid64:~# cat /sys/class/saradc/ch0
1019
root@odroid64:~# cat /sys/class/saradc/ch0
772
root@odroid64:~# cat /sys/class/saradc/ch0
685
root@odroid64:~# cat /sys/class/saradc/ch0
513
root@odroid64:~# cat /sys/class/saradc/ch0
1019
No button, and then pressing buttons from bottom going up.

...I'm not sending this thing back again and wait 2 months again :-/

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5114
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by mad_ady » Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:36 am

The top button should output close to 0 when pressed. There's a schematic on the wiki and all buttons are connected like a rezistive divider. If a solder point is imperfect it may have a button disconnected. It should be easy to fix with a soldering iron because the components are widley spaced.
My problem with the top button is that from time to time (once every few weeks) the ADC registers a quick button press even if it wasn't pressed.

You can increase the number of actions you can trigger by using the multibutton script presented in odroid magazine.

fvolk
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by fvolk » Sun Dec 10, 2017 4:25 am

The broken button feels different when pushed, so I guess it is the button itself and not a soldering problem. This seems like a broken button was used at manufactoring. I guess the best way is to cut the 4 connectors and solder a new button of similar size in.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5114
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: howto proof of working?

Unread post by mad_ady » Sun Dec 10, 2017 4:45 am

Yes. It seems to be a common button type, like the one they supply in the tinkering kit.

Post Reply

Return to “3.5inch LCD Shield”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests