Access to Kodi from outside home network

Post Reply
zemax_95
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:02 am
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Access to Kodi from outside home network

Unread post by zemax_95 » Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:11 am

Hello,

I need some help to figure out how can I activate the access from outside my home network, to Kodi installed on my Odroid C2. (LibreElec 9.0.1)

To be short, I have enabled the Web Interface, and I have correctly configured the parameters (port, login, password, and port redirection to the device on my router).


When I try to access to the web interface :
  • From inside my home network (Wifi or Ethernet), no problem.
  • From outside my home network (I used either my smartphone with enabled data, and also tried to connect at work), I have an error message, and cannot access.
I have another Kodi system (also LibreElec 9.0.1) in my bedroom, but this time it's not an Odroid but a RPi.
With this one, I can access the Kodi Web Interface without any problem from inside & outside.

So I suppose this is something linked with the Odroid C2 hardaware.
Does someone know if there is a parameter to change somewhere to allow access to Kodi Web Interface from outside ?
Thanks

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5676
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Contact:

Re: Access to Kodi from outside home network

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon Apr 08, 2019 3:15 am

I would not personally access Kodi over a port forwarding directly - I'd use a VPN to add encryption).
But to address your problem - the problem is that the port is not open, or do you get some other error?
Can you check from outside to telnet to the forwarded port and do a packet capture - either on the odroid side or the router side to make sure the traffic passes as expected?

User avatar
cdu13a
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:33 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C2, XU4, HC1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Access to Kodi from outside home network

Unread post by cdu13a » Mon Apr 08, 2019 4:26 am

Kodi doesn't know if it's being accessed from inside or outside your network. It just knows something is connecting to it's web interface over the network. So it's most likely a router/network configuration issue.

I agree with @mad_ady port forwarding directly to kodi is not something that you probably want to do. VPN or ssh tunneling is a much better more secure option.

zemax_95
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:02 am
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Access to Kodi from outside home network

Unread post by zemax_95 » Wed Apr 10, 2019 6:32 am

Thanks for your replies.

I understand your warnings about using VPN, and I'm aligned with that. However I'd like also to understand why the setting I'm doing doesn't work...

I have 2 devices, with the same Kodi/Libeelec distribution on them, with the same configuration.

I have :
  • enabled the access to the HTTP web interface, with login & password.
  • added port forwarding in my router to both distributions
odroid 1.png
odroid 1.png (6.5 KiB) Viewed 169 times
  • "Kodi S" has an internal IP ending by 25
  • "Kodi B" has an internal IP ending by 24


  1. Trying to access Kodi S internally, works perfectly for both devices
    odroid 2.jpg
    odroid 2.jpg (37.45 KiB) Viewed 169 times
    odroid 3.jpg
    odroid 3.jpg (31.03 KiB) Viewed 169 times
  2. Trying to access from outside my home network (I used my mobile phone data connexion)
It's OK for Kodi B
odroid 4.png
odroid 4.png (45.81 KiB) Viewed 169 times
But for Kodi S, it doesn't work... (login & password entered correctly)
odroid 5.png
odroid 5.png (51.38 KiB) Viewed 169 times
If port forwarding is OK for Kodi B, I suppose that should be also fine for Kodi S.
I've changed the physical place in my home of Kodi S which is installed on my Odroid C2. It was initially connected by Power-Line, but I've tried to connect it directly to the router : same results.

I understand that
Kodi doesn't know if it's being accessed from inside or outside your network.
but does the Odroid itself makes the difference ?

Any help is welcome.
Thanks

User avatar
memeka
Posts: 4290
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 10:22 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU rev2 + eMMC + UART
U3 + eMMC + IO Shield + UART
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 8 times
Contact:

Re: Access to Kodi from outside home network

Unread post by memeka » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:23 am

Personally, I use Plex server with the Kodi plex plugin.
So you can still use Kodi (and plex interface is quite nice), and use plex web for accessing the files outside the network.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5676
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Contact:

Re: Access to Kodi from outside home network

Unread post by mad_ady » Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:29 pm

Can you do a packet capture on the router or on Kodi S?
Regarding your question - it should work just the same.

An advice about port forwarding - avoid ports on nmap's top 1000 ports. Use something random-looking like 42663. Look into port-knocking as well for an extra layer of security.

User avatar
cdu13a
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:33 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C2, XU4, HC1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Access to Kodi from outside home network

Unread post by cdu13a » Wed Apr 10, 2019 6:06 pm

Another thing to try is swapping which external port goes to which internal host. It's possible that your ISP is blocking some ports,

zemax_95
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:02 am
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Access to Kodi from outside home network

Unread post by zemax_95 » Thu Apr 11, 2019 2:30 am

Thanks for all your answers.
I'll try all of this this week.

Envoyé de mon SM-G930F en utilisant Tapatalk


Post Reply

Return to “LibreELEC - Kodi Project for C1/C2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest