Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

Here I show an easy solution to add a S/PDIF connector to C2. It works also on Android!
DSC_0215.JPG
DSC_0215.JPG (181.78 KiB) Viewed 25100 times
Connection diagram:
spdif_c2.png
spdif_c2.png (4.44 KiB) Viewed 25100 times
The transmitter PLT133-T10W that I use has frequency range from 0 to 16Mbps, is from Everlight. I heard that the TOTX from Toshiba are not any more produced, so it was a hard search for a transmitter with fine data and deliverable. The J7 is the I2S connector, where pin 1 is that aside the middle of hdmi connector.
If odroid can confirm this, the S/PDIF connector of HifiShield+ would also work on Android, but as written on homepage, the analog audio of HifiShield+ doesn't work on Android.[edit]Works on the newer Android versions[/edit]

Happy listening!
Last edited by joerg on Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Da Alchemist
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 3:18 pm
languages_spoken: english (?) german
ODROIDs: C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by Da Alchemist »

That is interesting, which Modules have to be loaded to get this working and which distro are you using?
Regards

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

Nothing has to be loaded. The pin 2 of I2S header J7 is connected to the iec958 signal, same as hdmi iec958. I tried on Ubuntu and on Android.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 35535
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1176 times
Been thanked: 871 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by odroid »

Nice and useful finding for Android users. :D

robroy
Posts: 3459
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:29 am
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: Q2, X, X2, U2, U3, XU-E, XU3, XU4, C1, C1+, C2, GO, GO Advance, H2+
Location: Northern California
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 37 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by robroy »

Does this give you 5.1 sound in Android ?
Rob Roy, Editor-in-Chief of ODROID Magazine (submit an article | make a donation)

olihey
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:20 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by olihey »

Wow, that looks awesome.
So, you basically just output the same signal as the one on the HDMI port? No modules, no different ALSA devices.
Meaning I could connect my AV to the S/PDIF and have sound on the TV AND the AV all synced?!?!?!

Can you verify that?

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

@olihey
Not yet tried. Now I am modifying my All-In-One-PC with all this stuff (S/PDIF, On-Off-switch). Soldered all to breadboard and need to install. Later I will try if signal go parallel to hdmi and this pin to AV. But it should as I assume.

@robroy
Sorry, I don't know if maybe with kodi there is 5.1, but with normal music player as PowerAmp, no. Only 2 channel 48khz 16bit.

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

@olihey
Yes, sound comes parallel from AV and from TV, but it is not well synchronized. There is some milliseconds shift between. For me clear, because all this devices (Onkyo AV and Sony TV) are processing different the audio signal.

Gazeko
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:13 am
languages_spoken: english, german
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by Gazeko »

@joerg
That looks really awesome! Where can i buy the transmitter in germany? I only found some websites where i would have to buy at least 100 of them or the PLT131/T1/12 version with just 12Mbp. And then there is just a pre-resistor with 100 Ohm needed plus the cables?

mad_ady
Posts: 8567
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 578 times
Been thanked: 483 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by mad_ady »

I smell a business opportunity for HK to build a new simpler hifi shield for C2 :)

Da Alchemist
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 3:18 pm
languages_spoken: english (?) german
ODROIDs: C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by Da Alchemist »

@robroy there is no 5.1 Passthrough on Kodi

@Gazeko, yes the PLT131 is working fine (bought mine on ebay, got it today) the resistor and the wires are all you need.

Regards

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

I bought it here: http://shop.anvilex.de/index.php?route= ... t_id=32662.
But I ordered also the receiver PLR, and they first accepted the order, later cancelled, sent only the transmitter.
The resistor is not necessary to make the transmitter functional, but to protect the gpio pin in case of damaged transmitter. I copied this from HifiShield+ scheme.

Gazeko
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:13 am
languages_spoken: english, german
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by Gazeko »

@Da Alchemist Thank you for your quick replay

@joerg Thank you I will order from there. Do you have an idea if there is a board you can solder it to, so you can put it on top of the odroid? I have already searched but i didnt find anything.

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

Sorry, don't know. I soldered it to a bread board as you can see on the picture, additional soldered the parts for an on-off-switch, and installed it aside the C2.
A little bit off topic, but now my project is ready. Connected the S/PDIF to my the AV to hear music with PowerAmp or Spotify, has a on-off-switch, made a Daydream app that connects to the nas by cifs to show photos when inactive (didn't found a app on the market that makes what I want). My wife is happy.
DSC_0221.JPG
DSC_0221.JPG (419.6 KiB) Viewed 25109 times
Last edited by joerg on Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

crashoverride
Posts: 5133
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:42 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 375 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by crashoverride »

But the C2 is upside down! All the bits are going to leak out! :lol:

Have you tried this on a C0/C1+? It probably has the same audio GPIO mux as the C2. I have not checked the datasheet, though.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 35535
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1176 times
Been thanked: 871 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by odroid »

crashoverride wrote: Have you tried this on a C0/C1+? It probably has the same audio GPIO mux as the C2. I have not checked the datasheet, though.
Since the HiFi-Shield-Plus Optical output works on C1+/C0, it should be possible.

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

@crashoverride
Thank you for this hint. Then I need to enable the watchdog to make sure they can't escape! :P

I assume that on C1 Android it is not working. Can't test it right now, my C1+ is assembled and I don't have a second s/pdif.
In dts of C1 this section with audio_spdif_pins is missing, where on linux kernel it is existing:

Code: Select all

        audio_spdif_pins:audio_pin1{
            amlogic,setmask=<10 0x00010000>;
            amlogic,clrmask=<10 0x00040000
			      1 0x00002000>;
            amlogic,pins ="GPIOAO_6";
        };
and

Code: Select all

    audio_spdif_codec{
        compatible = "amlogic,aml-spdif-codec";
        dev_name = "spdif-dit.0";
        pinctrl-names = "aml_audio_spdif";
        pinctrl-0 = <&audio_spdif_pins>;
        status = "okay";
    };
Probably someone else can enable and test it?

phaseshifter
Posts: 3548
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: U-2,U3+,,XU-3,,XU3-LITE,,XU-4
C1+,,C-2,,,
N-1,,N-2,...other odroid acc`s as well
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by phaseshifter »

ok i got a toslink socket off an old dvd player and hooked it up as per the notes above ..
i did not use the 100 ohm resistor..
i will add it to see if any difference when i fit the unit together on a board that i can attach to my C-2
..
settings in sound preferences
hardware ::odroid dac
input :: monitor of odroid dac
output :: odroid dac
..
i am running the v.2.0 LTS image ubuntu mate and up to date
Build It And They Will Come...Be Bold And Mighty Forces Will Come To Your Aid..!!!

dtweb
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 1:14 pm
languages_spoken: italian, english, german
ODROIDs: XU3, C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by dtweb »

Hi Joerg,
can I use J7.1 an J7.2 as a coaxial digital out?
Thanks
Dario

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

@phaseshifter
It should work also without resistor. I overtook this resistor from HifiSield schematic. I assume, the only reason of it's presence is to protect the gpio pin in case of short circuit.

@dtweb
Probably yes, but you should use a transformer to decouple.

dtweb
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 1:14 pm
languages_spoken: italian, english, german
ODROIDs: XU3, C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by dtweb »

joerg wrote:@dtweb
Probably yes, but you should use a transformer to decouple.
As this:
http://media.digikey.com/pdf/Data%20She ... ev2006.pdf

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

Yes, something like this. Here is an example how to connect a pulse transformer http://www.diyhifi.org/forums/viewtopic ... &start=210. Note that I have absolutely no experience with digital audio pulse transformers, so you are on your own to check if it correct dimensioned.

phaseshifter
Posts: 3548
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: U-2,U3+,,XU-3,,XU3-LITE,,XU-4
C1+,,C-2,,,
N-1,,N-2,...other odroid acc`s as well
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by phaseshifter »

my C-2 with my dac and toslink..yeah it`s still in prototype stages
Attachments
Photo0002(2).jpg
(172.49 KiB) Downloaded 4832 times
Build It And They Will Come...Be Bold And Mighty Forces Will Come To Your Aid..!!!

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

But it looks unique! ;)

Malin Yamato
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 5:31 am
languages_spoken: Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID-C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by Malin Yamato »

you are really into cool projects that I want to try out myself as well. :D
Question> Is this stuff ok as a transmitter?
http://www.digikey.de/product-detail/en ... ND/2693977
thanks

phaseshifter
Posts: 3548
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: U-2,U3+,,XU-3,,XU3-LITE,,XU-4
C1+,,C-2,,,
N-1,,N-2,...other odroid acc`s as well
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by phaseshifter »

that unit should work fine although you need to wire it correctly make shure you get the pinouts correct
Build It And They Will Come...Be Bold And Mighty Forces Will Come To Your Aid..!!!

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

Yes, that is the one I use. As phaseshifter mentioned, be careful with the pinout. I myself have destroyed one PLT because I have misinterpreted the datasheet. Look too the photo in first post, from the back side it is GND - VCC - IN from left to right. You see the optional resistor goes to the right pin. Since now it is working well with my Onkyo AV Receiver.

Malin Yamato
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 5:31 am
languages_spoken: Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID-C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by Malin Yamato »

Thank you for your reply.... I have zero knowledge about electroncis but I do everything to get som nice sound of of this tiny board. I ordered PLT133-T10 insteed of PLT133-T10W --- is that OK??? or do I need the W , whatever that W stands for, I dont know ??

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

The electrical specs are the same, only the housing is a little bit different. So you can use them.

benwillcox
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2016 6:34 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+,C2, N2, N2+
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 17 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by benwillcox »

Just wanted to say thanks for posting this thread. I wanted SPDIF out over co-ax and following your post it's as simple as using pins 1 & 2 from header J7. Thanks!

Ben

User avatar
auranas
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 4:16 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, HC1, H2, GO, HiFi Shield Plus, HiFi Shield 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by auranas »

This post is a really nice find. Thank you all.

I am going to try the coax out this week.

I will also see if I can get it working with this board I found on eBay.

http://m.ebay.com/itm/CD-ROM-Digital-Si ... Ciid%253A7

I got a few of them a while back.
____________________________________________
Your music collection. Protected by auranas®.

pogo1975
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:22 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by pogo1975 »

benwillcox wrote:Just wanted to say thanks for posting this thread. I wanted SPDIF out over co-ax and following your post it's as simple as using pins 1 & 2 from header J7. Thanks!

Ben
Just simply connecting wires? Or some additional equipment needed (eg. Transformer?)

Wysłane z mojego HTC One M9 przy użyciu Tapatalka

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

Yes for coax typically is needed a transformer. Above I posted a link of an example. Think of the different potential of the devices, you can get noises from circulating ground current or even destroyed components.

andy5macht
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 5:25 am
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: U3, C2, N2
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by andy5macht »

This is super simple and working.
Thanks for this nice addon of our amazing C2!
PS: used a transmitter from old Xbox360 AV Cable 8-)

Snoozer
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by Snoozer »

Hi all,
also from my side a very big thank you for this thread.

@ andy5macht
andy5macht wrote:This is super simple and working.
Thanks for this nice addon of our amazing C2!
PS: used a transmitter from old Xbox360 AV Cable 8-)
Dou you also use a coax connection? Could you please describe exactly which part of the cable you used and what you connected to what? I would like to set up the same configuration, but I am not very deep in these electronical things. Thanks a lot!

andy5macht
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 5:25 am
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: U3, C2, N2
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by andy5macht »

No, I just use Optical Connecton.
You have to get a HD AV Cable with Optical out: (Black little square - there should fit your Optical cable in.)
Image

You just have to open plastic case and metal case.
Desolder the black connector from Cable-Board.
Solder wires exactly as shown in pictures in first Post (with Resistor in Series to Data)

Snoozer
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by Snoozer »

Oh great, thank you for that picture, that makes everything clear!
I didn't even know that such an HD cable exists. I had two Xboxes over the years, but both ones with a usual AV cable. I'm pretty sure to find such a cable on Ebay or in a second hand shop - for me the better alternative to the hifi shield.

andy5macht
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 5:25 am
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: U3, C2, N2
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by andy5macht »

i just used the part from the cable because nothing is faster/cheaper than doing the "lying around thing".
i would not buy a cable and desolder port out of it...
such one you need:
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R4 ... r&_sacat=0

Snoozer
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by Snoozer »

I fully agree with you, I'd also like to recycle some old things. Unfortunately I don't have them and in fact it seems to be the cheapest alternative (when I think of shipping costs) to get such a cable in a 2nd hand shop.
Anyway, I will do a little shopping within the next few days and then hopefully have something to play with for the weekend. I'll post my solution here when I'm finished. Thank you again for your help.

Snoozer
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by Snoozer »

Hi all,
it took some shipping and testing time, but finally I now own my C2 and also the PLT133 from Joerg's link.

Unfortunately I didn't have success. I triplechecked everything, I'm sure that I've connected everything correctly. There is simply no signal in the optical cable. I can exclude a cable problem, because it works with my PS4. I even can see the signal's red light from the PS4 - what I can't from the PLT133.

Is there any software configuration required to get the I2S interface working? Is there any chance to check my soldering work maybe from Ubuntu's side?

Thank you again for your help.

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

You can check on my very first photo the correct order of the pins. Looking on the backside of the PLT133 the pins are GND, VCC and IN from left to right. I myself fried one PLT133 with false connection. Connect the IN directliy to 3.3V, you should get a red light. Check the pin1 of header7, if there is 3.3V, if not, the driver may not be loaded, or in device tree the part for GPIOAO_6 is missing.

Snoozer
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by Snoozer »

I love it when a plan comes together! :-) It worked! Sometimes the solution is too simple.
Your suggestion to check the 3.3V (which is 5V at my C2 by the way) inspired me to check my soldered connections. And there was the problem: One soldering had no contact. It was impossible to see it, but a voltmeter presented the truth.

I read all your postings very carefully and even made my own drawing to connect all pins correctly. If you like I can prepare it as a clean digital drawing and post it here. Maybe this is helpful for other full-dummies like me?


Unfortunately I now have the next issue on software side, perhaps you again have a nice idea for me.
The C2 is connected by HDMI cable to an older flatscreen. The PLT133 is connected by optical cable to an older AV receiver, which is able to render DTS. This works also by optical cable, I checked it with the PS4.
But the sound coming from C2 is only the PCM 2.0 signal. I think the reason is the TV, because it is not able to decode DTS, so the C2 does downscaling. Do you know if there is a chance to force passthrough for the sound signal?
I'm using the Ubuntu Mate image coming from Hardkernel and checked it with the usual desktop programs and also with Kodi - no success. Ubuntu's sound setup, which seems to be some kind of Pulseaudio, only shows me "Analog Stereo" as sound output of the HDMI device.

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

Fine that you solved it. But sorry, I can't help right now with the PCM issue. I would need to play with my own C2 to check this, but I'm not at home.

Snoozer
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by Snoozer »

Hi again,
meanwhile I tried some things, unfortunately I didn't have success. Does anybody else here perhaps have an idea for me?

I checked:
- changing boot.init to ignore as well as use EDID
- forcing audio output of my TV to AV receiver
- using LibreElec instead of Ubuntu Mate: I can activate passthrough mode, but without any effect
- booting C2 without HDMI cable plugged in, even while playing DTS material

I still don't get any other audio signal than PCM. I wonder if it is a software or hardware issue. I appreciate any help, thanks!

jamesmccanna
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 7:51 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by jamesmccanna »

Hello,

I am impressed by the ingenuity on this thread. So, I am interested in using the available pins to get an analog line-level input to the C2.

My C2 does not even record clean line-in audio from a USB card. It is static/buzzing noise but I can hear the audio underneath. Something is not right with how it interacts with the USB card. The exact same settings/card/ source works fine on my RP3.

I bought the C2 hoping it would perform primarily as a audio device. Any thoughts on how to wire it up for analog in?

Thanks,

James

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 8031
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 724 times
Been thanked: 251 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by rooted »

You can try the USB card through a powered hub or the OTG port on the C2, either should help.

You should start your own thread since that is not the scope of this thread.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 35535
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1176 times
Been thanked: 871 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by odroid »

As I told you in other thread, there is a way to use the UDA1380 chipset for audio line input via I2S bus.
http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?f ... 13#p143249
But that method will break the S/PDIF output because I2S data-in pin conflicts to the S/PDIF output.

mat60
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 7:58 am
languages_spoken: german
ODROIDs: C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by mat60 »

Hello Jörg,

thank you for the description to add a SPDIF-Connector to the C2!
It's very easy to copy your solution and it works fine.


Regards
Mathias

InspecteurGadget
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:33 am
languages_spoken: French, English
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
USB GPS, Bluetooth, Wifi
Emmc 8g Android M
Rtc modue
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by InspecteurGadget »

Hello,
With power amp on Android I can play with 24bit 192khz?
And with plt I can connect it on dac that have 2pin?(with this
https://www.moddiy.com/product_images/t ... 6_zoom.jpg)?
Cordially,

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Re: Add S/PDIF to Odroid C2

Post by joerg »

Unfortunately I can't check the codec with my equipment (Onkio AV Receiver), it only shows PCM 2.0, other details are missing. And I don't know how you can connect to your dac. Need more details about your dac, as e.g. data sheet.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware and peripherals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests