100Mbps on some switch

Moderators: mdrjr, odroid

100Mbps on some switch

Unread postby alpha_one_x86 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 5:44 am

Hi,

On some switch 50% of my odroid, is at 100Mbps, I don't explain that's. Changing port or network wire don't change, it's linked to a specific odroid c2.

Cheers,
Developer of ImageUltracopier/ImageSupercopier and of the game ImageCatchChallenger
User avatar
alpha_one_x86
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:47 am
languages_spoken: french, english, spanish
ODROIDs: 15 odroid u3, 10 odroid c1, 50 odroid c2

Re: 100Mbps on some switch

Unread postby mad_ady » Sat Jan 13, 2018 3:15 pm

Can you try forcing the link to 1G with ethtool -s eth0 speed 1000 duplex full autoneg off?
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1

Re: 100Mbps on some switch

Unread postby alpha_one_x86 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 11:28 pm

If I force, the link remain off.
Developer of ImageUltracopier/ImageSupercopier and of the game ImageCatchChallenger
User avatar
alpha_one_x86
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:47 am
languages_spoken: french, english, spanish
ODROIDs: 15 odroid u3, 10 odroid c1, 50 odroid c2

Re: 100Mbps on some switch

Unread postby mad_ady » Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:19 am

Is your switch managed? Can you try forcing the link on the switch end as well?
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1

Re: 100Mbps on some switch

Unread postby alpha_one_x86 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:30 am

mad_ady wrote:Is your switch managed? Can you try forcing the link on the switch end as well?

Same if I force on both. How debug that's?
Developer of ImageUltracopier/ImageSupercopier and of the game ImageCatchChallenger
User avatar
alpha_one_x86
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:47 am
languages_spoken: french, english, spanish
ODROIDs: 15 odroid u3, 10 odroid c1, 50 odroid c2

Re: 100Mbps on some switch

Unread postby mad_ady » Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:42 am

I'd say that it's a proble, of the cable or port. Can you show us the output of ethtool eth0 when it negotiates 100Mbps? You could also try (untested) to run an ethernet cable between two C2s and see if they negociate 1000 based on led color. If 1G works between 2 C2s, then the switch is at fault (you can test with the same cable you use on the switch or with a different cable). Also, check that all the 4 pairs in the cable are used, and not just two.
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1

Re: 100Mbps on some switch

Unread postby alpha_one_x86 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:02 am

  • C2 to C2: 1G
  • C2 to TL-SG1024D: 1G
  • C2 to S3700-24T4S: 100M
  • C2 to CRS326-24G-2S+RM: 100M

Same with:
  • Cat5e UTP
  • Cat6 SFTP
  • Cat6a SFTP

It's always the same C2 with 100Mbps and with 1000Mbps, include when I change the switch port, cable.

Code: Select all
Settings for eth0:
        Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
        Supported link modes:   10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                                100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                                1000baseT/Full
        Supported pause frame use: Symmetric Receive-only
        Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
        Advertised link modes:  10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                                100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                                1000baseT/Full
        Advertised pause frame use: No
        Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
        Link partner advertised link modes:  10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                                             100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                                             1000baseT/Full
        Link partner advertised pause frame use: Transmit-only
        Link partner advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
        Speed: 100Mb/s
        Duplex: Full
        Port: MII
        PHYAD: 0
        Transceiver: internal
        Auto-negotiation: on
        Supports Wake-on: ug
        Wake-on: d
        Current message level: 0x0000003f (63)
                               drv probe link timer ifdown ifup
        Link detected: yes
Developer of ImageUltracopier/ImageSupercopier and of the game ImageCatchChallenger
User avatar
alpha_one_x86
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:47 am
languages_spoken: french, english, spanish
ODROIDs: 15 odroid u3, 10 odroid c1, 50 odroid c2

Re: 100Mbps on some switch

Unread postby mad_ady » Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:56 pm

That is very strange. It can sense the 1G speed as supported. I don't know what the problem is. I suppose other devices (including C2s) work fine with those switches.
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1


Return to Hardware and peripherals

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest