adam1128
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

How to update Android Webview version?

Post by adam1128 »

tl;dr:
I've downloaded the most recent andriod system webview but the odroid android 5.1 doesn't seem to use it, and instead sticks with the built in webview, which is > a year old, and very buggy. How do I get odroid to use the new webview?

In detail:
I'm pretty new to hacking hardware, so apologies in advance. I recently bought a C2, and installed the latest HK android version (Android 5.1.1 (v2.3)). I'm running a webRTC web app. It's built into an APK using a webview. When I run the APK, getting the local video from my usb webcam is very jittery, and crashes after 5-10 seconds. (I've tried a lot of webcams, all the same). However, when I run the web app on the latest android chrome browser on the C2, it works perfectly, and the video is perfectly smooth.

I figured the webview was out of date, as I've seen this kind of thing before with the old webview that was built in to android 5. Google decoupled the webview from the OS soon after android 5 came out, so I installed the google play store and downloaded the most recent version of the system webview from there (Version 53.0.xxx). Normally, android will just use this automatically. I fire up the APK, but the app crashes again. When I look at the webview user agent string in my app, it's still using the very old webview (non-decoupled) that was built in to android, which is based on chrome v39:

Code: Select all

UA: Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; Android 5.1.1; ODROIDC2 Build/LMY49M) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Chrome/39.0.0.0 Safari/537.36
In contrast, if I run this on my lenovo android tablet, which also has the newest webview installed, I see it's using the most recent (decoupled) webview:

Code: Select all