Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post Reply
qlex
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:21 pm
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, U3 (a lot of them!)
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post by qlex »

Hi,
I have a couple of odroids c2 that returned to service and before i send them to repair office, i tried to see the log from uart upon boot.
Odroid seems to work (blue led pulse ok, lte modem plugged in and led displays blue meaning signal is found) but nothing outputs on the screen. Tested several screens and also, tested other odroids (including older c1 and c1+ to verify if hdmi cable and screens are ok).

Attaching log captured upon boot using uart cable. I noticed:

```hdmitx: read edid fails.. retry..
```

I don't know if that's the reason, but please let me know what could be done?
Attachments
odroid.log
(69.42 KiB) Downloaded 5 times

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 9979
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 631 times
Been thanked: 780 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post by mad_ady »

You can try to force a resolution in boot.ini

qlex
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:21 pm
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, U3 (a lot of them!)
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post by qlex »

my log has:
cfgload: setenv hdmimode "1080p60hz"

so i guess its set properly since a lot of other odroids i have (with the same android image) work ok.
Any quick idea how to do it ? Using windows and putty - odroid is running android 6.
or do i have to use a linux machine for that ?

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 9979
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 631 times
Been thanked: 780 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post by mad_ady »

Yeah, it looks like it's already set. Try on the TV/monitor to toggle HDMI input. Sometimes that does the trick.

qlex
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:21 pm
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, U3 (a lot of them!)
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post by qlex »

I tried three different monitors - all with No signal. I plugged in another C1+ and it worked flawlessly on the same monitor + cable, so i know C2's hdmi could be faulty - is there a way to verify that ?

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 9979
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 631 times
Been thanked: 780 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post by mad_ady »

Try flashing ubuntu 20 on a spare sd/emmc and boot with the same hdmi cable.
https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-c2/os_images/ubuntu/v4.1

qlex
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:21 pm
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, U3 (a lot of them!)
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post by qlex »

Ok, I now know, that Odroid was destroyed because of too much load on it. We're connecting 4g modem on usb but also hdmi to powered hdmi splitter, so too much current is going to hdmi.

Is there a limit value of power consumption of odroid c2 - is there some cap ?

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 793
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: N2+, Game Advance, a few XU4
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 98 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post by mctom »

qlex wrote:
Mon Nov 29, 2021 10:12 pm
Ok, I now know, that Odroid was destroyed because of too much load on it.
As I already stated in PM, I highly doubt it.
qlex wrote:
Mon Nov 29, 2021 10:12 pm
too much current is going to hdmi.
U8 (AP2331SA) limits +5V HDMI current to 0,4A typ. (0.5A max). This component has thermal protection, so should not fail on non-repetitive acts of abuse.

To put it into perspective, 0,5A is a standard maximum current for USB2.0 devices. I expect your Huawei 4g modem to obey the same standard. Since C2 has two USB ports, there is no way it is overloaded by these two loads combined.
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

qlex
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:21 pm
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, U3 (a lot of them!)
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post by qlex »

thanks for info.
Can we also cut voltage on usb ports? So that we could power our accessories from our converter/transformer rather than from usb and thus, limit load on c2 ?

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 793
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: N2+, Game Advance, a few XU4
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 98 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post by mctom »

If you really want to thoroughly explore that rabbit hole..
https://dn.odroid.com/S905/Schematic/

Yo may remove U19 to turn off USB VBUS.
U19 is controlled by USB HUB chip so the same may be achieved programmatically.
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

qlex
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:21 pm
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, U3 (a lot of them!)
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post by qlex »

How to achieve that programmatically ?

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 793
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: N2+, Game Advance, a few XU4
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 98 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid works but no signal on hdmi

Post by mctom »

Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

Post Reply

Return to “Android”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests