Do we have access to the oCam-1CGN-U sensor's registers?

Moderators: mdrjr, odroid

Do we have access to the oCam-1CGN-U sensor's registers?

Unread postby Kai » Fri Feb 23, 2018 10:33 am

I'd like to implement frame capture via the trigger pin provided on the oCam-1CGN-U.

It appears that all that is needed is write access to the registers of the sensor.
Does your API implement such functionality?
If not, could it be possible to implement?
It would be so useful!

Have a look at how the Arducam is doing it, since they have a shield with the same sensor (AR0134)
https://github.com/ArduCAM/ArduCAM_USB_Camera_Shield/issues/15
It appears to show that if I can setup the camera with specific values on its registers it will begin capturing depending on the state of the trigger pin.

I purchased the oCam instead as it allows data transfer through USB3, Arducam only has USB2.0

Also is there any way of telling if the camera dropped frames?


cheers,
Kai
Kai
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:15 am
languages_spoken: english, spanish, japanese
ODROIDs: C1

Re: Do we have access to the oCam-1CGN-U sensor's registers?

Unread postby WITHROBOT » Fri Feb 23, 2018 4:59 pm

We are sorry but the oCam-1CGN-U does not support the trigger.
The pin for external connection is for future use.

Regarding the frame drop detection, please note that;
- The camera never drops frames.
- Frame drop can occur either at the communication level or the receiver level.
-. The frame drop by communication usually occurs repeatedly so that we can detect the problem relatively with ease.
-. The frame drop at receiver occurs when the reading action at the host system does not follow the receiving FPS. You can detect this type of frame drop by counting the frames read per unit time.
WITHROBOT
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:54 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-C2

Re: Do we have access to the oCam-1CGN-U sensor's registers?

Unread postby Kai » Sat Feb 24, 2018 8:35 am

It's great to know that as long as on the receiving side you are reading the frames on time that you won't drop any!

If there is no trigger pin available, how then would you go around synchronizing multiple of these cameras? Any suggestions?

Any way you guys could release the code that controls the sensor under the hood?
What is stopping you from releasing it?

The reason I ask is because I would like to capture video in the sensor's native 12 bit depth.
Since it's my understanding that it gets downsampled to 8 bit resolution.
Or is it already possible to read at 12 bit depth?
Kai
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:15 am
languages_spoken: english, spanish, japanese
ODROIDs: C1

Re: Do we have access to the oCam-1CGN-U sensor's registers?

Unread postby WITHROBOT » Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:28 am

We are sorry but there is no good way to time synchronize multiple of our cameras.

Regarding the pixel data length, 12 bit is reduced to 8 bit before it is transmitted to the host.
Therefore, you can't restore and read the original 12 bit data.
WITHROBOT
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:54 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-C2


Return to oCAM USB 3.0 Camera

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest