No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Post Reply
newjerseyninja
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 1:14 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by newjerseyninja » Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:50 pm

Hello,

I just received an Odroid C1.

I prepared the Ubuntu 14.04 image from Odroid onto an SDCard and installed it.

I am using the ODroid power supply, the one from the webstore.

I am using a known-good micro HDMI cable, it works with the Odroid-W and my phone.

I cannot get HDMI out from the ODroid.

I modified an old CDROM cable and connected it to the ODroid's UART terminal. Using Putty, at 115200bps, I can get a console now.

uname -a gives:
Linux odroid 3.10.64-37 #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Jan 19 20:30:42 BRST 2015 armv71 armv71 armv71 GNU/Linux


Ok, now what? How do I get HDMI out to work?

under /media/boot/boot.ini I have the following settings uncommented:

setenv m '1080p'

setenv vout_mode "hdmi"

setenv m_bpp "32"

setenv disableuhs "disableuhs"

setenv vpu "1"

setenv hdmioutput "1"

setenv bootargs "console=ttySO,115200n8, root=UUID=e139ce78-9841-40fe-8823-96a30$

fatload mmc 0:1 0x21000000 uImage

fatload mmc 0:1 0x22000000 uInitrd

fatload mmc 0:1 0x21800000 meson8b_odroidc.dtb

fdt addr 21800000

if test "${vpu} = "0"; then fdt rm /mesonstream; fdt rm /vdec; fdt rm /ppmgr; $

if test "${hdmioutput}" = "0"; then fdt rm /mesonfb; f1

bootm 0x21000000 0x22000000 0x21800000"

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 2823
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by tobetter » Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:58 pm

newjerseyninja wrote:Hello,

I just received an Odroid C1.

I prepared the Ubuntu 14.04 image from Odroid onto an SDCard and installed it.

I am using the ODroid power supply, the one from the webstore.

I am using a known-good micro HDMI cable, it works with the Odroid-W and my phone.

I cannot get HDMI out from the ODroid.

I modified an old CDROM cable and connected it to the ODroid's UART terminal. Using Putty, at 115200bps, I can get a console now.

uname -a gives:
Linux odroid 3.10.64-37 #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Jan 19 20:30:42 BRST 2015 armv71 armv71 armv71 GNU/Linux


Ok, now what? How do I get HDMI out to work?

under /media/boot/boot.ini I have the following settings uncommented:

setenv m '1080p'

setenv vout_mode "hdmi"

setenv m_bpp "32"

setenv disableuhs "disableuhs"

setenv vpu "1"

setenv hdmioutput "1"

setenv bootargs "console=ttySO,115200n8, root=UUID=e139ce78-9841-40fe-8823-96a30$

fatload mmc 0:1 0x21000000 uImage

fatload mmc 0:1 0x22000000 uInitrd

fatload mmc 0:1 0x21800000 meson8b_odroidc.dtb

fdt addr 21800000

if test "${vpu} = "0"; then fdt rm /mesonstream; fdt rm /vdec; fdt rm /ppmgr; $

if test "${hdmioutput}" = "0"; then fdt rm /mesonfb; f1

bootm 0x21000000 0x22000000 0x21800000"
You might be already read and tried, but please try to change the value of "vout_mode" to "dvi" instead of "hdmi".

newjerseyninja
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 1:14 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by newjerseyninja » Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:27 am

FYI:

I read about the USB shell to HDMI shell fixing someone else's video out problem.

I am out of ideas so I figured I'd try it.

I took a paper clip and shorted the HDMI connector shell to the microusb shell adjacent to it and held the paper clip in position.

After 3 seconds the HDMI signal worked and the display came up onthe screen. Removing the paper clip made the screen blank out again. Putting the paper clip back made it work again.

Looking at the schematic, the microUSB connector J6 has the shell ground connected to signal ground. All of the other USB Type A connectors have a ferrite bead in parallel with a capacitor in between signal ground and their USB shields -- This is typical for USB hubs. It provides ac coupling path with the capacitor and the ferrite bead is there to block high frequency signals, but pass DC.

Looking at the microHDMI connector, CON3, signals GND0, GND1, GND3 and GND4 connecto to the signal ground through a 1MF resistor in parallel with a capacitor.

Is the 1MF resistor supposed to mean 1 Megohm, Fusable?

Why is R11 not a ferrite bead?

Or, since the TDMS Data2 Shield, TDMS Data0 Shield and DDC/CEC Grounds all directly go to signal ground, why not just replace C9 and R11 with 0 ohm resistors?

I looked up the datasheet for the IP4791CZ12 HDMI ESD suppressor part. Figure 7 shows a typical application. In that application all of the HDMI-D receptacle's GND related pins go directly to signal ground without a cap and resistor.

That resistor really is an MF'er.

saamishon
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:05 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU3, C1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by saamishon » Thu Jan 29, 2015 2:58 pm

Thanks a ton brother :-) it helped me.

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 2823
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by tobetter » Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:12 pm

saamishon wrote:Thanks a ton brother :-) it helped me.
How does you board work? Could you please post the photo what you have done as a workaround?

saamishon
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:05 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU3, C1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by saamishon » Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:14 pm

I got a neat display after shorting the microUSB shell and HDMI shell.
Attachments
WP_20150129_001.jpg
Shorting the microUSB shell and HDMI shell

saamishon
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:05 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU3, C1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by saamishon » Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:19 pm

Thank you newjerseyninja and "tobetter" :)
Attachments
WP_20150129_002.jpg

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 2823
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by tobetter » Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:31 pm

@ssamishon, congratulation!! are you able to H/W work? Then could you try to short C9 or R11, brown color, beside of HDMI connector? It would be better than that way.

saamishon
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:05 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU3, C1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by saamishon » Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:49 pm

I dont have precision soldering. So I've just shorted the shells. Whatever you told about Sandisk is correct. I'm using Sandisk class 4. If i use other cards, i get only red light.
One more thing i observed. After turning ON the supply if the shells are shorted, the display wont come up. if i short after the blue light starts blinking, then i get the proper display.

saamishon
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:05 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU3, C1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by saamishon » Thu Jan 29, 2015 7:07 pm

After turning ON the supply if the shells are shorted, the display wont come up. if i short after the blue light starts blinking, then i get the proper display. So i connected this switch.
Attachments
WP_20150129_003.jpg

saamishon
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:05 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU3, C1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by saamishon » Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:02 am

I got perfect display with no modifications(box piece) by using the HDMI cable supplied by hardkernel :)

nexusefr
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 12:11 am
languages_spoken: english spanish
ODROIDs: C1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by nexusefr » Tue Feb 10, 2015 12:24 am

Hello , I have the same problem but does not work with short between hdmi and microUSB .

This is my configuration, right?

ODROIDC-UBOOT-CONFIG

# Possible screen resolutions
# Uncomment only a single Line! The line with setenv written.
# At least one mode must be selected.

# setenv m "vga" # 640x480
# setenv m "480p" # 720x480
# setenv m "576p" # 720x576
# setenv m "800x480p60hz" # 800x480
# setenv m "800x600p60hz" # 800x600
# setenv m "1024x600p60hz" # 1024x600
# setenv m "1024x768p60hz" # 1024x768
# setenv m "1360x768p60hz" # 1360x768
# setenv m "1366x768p60hz" # 1366x768
# setenv m "1440x900p60hz" # 1440x900
# setenv m "1600x900p60hz" # 1600x900
# setenv m "1680x1050p60hz" # 1680x1050
# setenv m "720p" # 720p 1280x720
# setenv m "800p" # 1280x800
# setenv m "sxga" # 1280x1024
# setenv m "1080i50hz" # 1080I@50Hz
# setenv m "1080p24hz" # 1080P@24Hz
# setenv m "1080p50hz" # 1080P@50Hz
setenv m "1080p" # 1080P@60Hz
# setenv m "1920x1200" # 1920x1200

# HDMI DVI Mode Configuration
setenv vout_mode "hdmi"
# setenv vout_mode "dvi"

# HDMI BPP Mode
setenv m_bpp "32"
# setenv m_bpp "24"
# setenv m_bpp "16"

# UHS Card Configuration
# Uncomment the line below to __DISABLE__ UHS-1 MicroSD support
# This might break boot for some brand models of cards.
setenv disableuhs "disableuhs"


# Disable VPU (Video decoding engine, Saves RAM!!!)
# 0 = disabled
# 1 = enabled
setenv vpu "1"

# Disable HDMI Output (Again, saves ram!)
# 0 = disabled
# 1 = enabled
setenv hdmioutput "1"

# Default Console Device Setting
# setenv condev "console=ttyS0,115200n8" # on serial port
setenv condev "console=tty0" # on display (HDMI)
# setenv condev "console=ttyS0,115200n8 console=tty0" # on both

# Boot Arguments
setenv bootargs "root=UUID=e139ce78-9841-40fe-8823-96a304a09859 rootwait ro ${condev} no_console_suspend vdaccfg=0xa000 logo=osd1,loaded,0x7900000,720p,full dmfc=3 cvbsmode=576cvbs hdmimode=${m} m_bpp=${m_bpp} vout=${vout_mode} ${disableuhs}"

# Booting
fatload mmc 0:1 0x21000000 uImage
fatload mmc 0:1 0x22000000 uInitrd
fatload mmc 0:1 0x21800000 meson8b_odroidc.dtb
fdt addr 21800000

if test "${vpu}" = "0"; then fdt rm /mesonstream; fdt rm /vdec; fdt rm /ppmgr; fi

if test "${hdmioutput}" = "0"; then fdt rm /mesonfb; fi

bootm 0x21000000 0x22000000 0x21800000"



thanks in advance

dreamcat4
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 8:42 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by dreamcat4 » Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:24 am

Yes, I have cheap HDMI cable too. The ground shorting trick did not work for me either. When cable is left plugged. However if I first wait for the C1 to finish booting itself, then unplug --> and re-plug back in the HDMI cable (either end of cable). Then the image can appear. And is OK afterward.

nexusefr
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 12:11 am
languages_spoken: english spanish
ODROIDs: C1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by nexusefr » Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:28 am

still not working, my hdmi not find the lcd as shown by this command. Why? I think my ODROID c1 is broken by hardware hdmi output

cat /sys/class/amhdmitx/amhdmitx0/edid
Receiver Brand Name:
Receiver Product Name:
EDID block number: 0x0
Source Physical Address[a.b.c.d]: 0.0.0.0
native Mode 0, VIC (native 255):
ColorDeepSupport 8c, MaxTMDSClock 10

Audio {format, channel, freq, cce}
Speaker Allocation: 0
Vendor: c03
Rx 3D Format Support List:
{VIC FramePacking TopBottom SidebySide}

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 2823
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by tobetter » Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:34 am

@nexusefr, please let me know what shows the command **# cat /sys/class/amhdmitx/amhdmitx0/hpd_state**. What HDMI cable do you use? HK's official cable or something else?

nexusefr
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 12:11 am
languages_spoken: english spanish
ODROIDs: C1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by nexusefr » Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:15 am

@tobetter This command does not display anything,

Code: Select all

cat /sys/class/amhdmitx/amhdmitx0/hpd_state
1odroid@odroid:~$ 
my microHDMI is Sony Ericsson , model IM820 . Before worked fine, but suddenly can not get image. I bought another cheap cable and it does not work . Even putting new image with android has no picture . I think the static energy can damage the graphic chip. I am very unhappy , I can only use with vnc entire desktop. Could initiate a process of RMA for HardKernel ?

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 2823
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by tobetter » Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:25 am

@nexusefr, so...you mean your C1 worked showed a picture with the same cable and suddenly it doesn't with the same configuration you posted. Right? The command shows that the cable is attached but no picture. Even you tried Android, you haven't seen HK logo on your TV? Changing "vout_mode" to "dvi" doesn't help you at all? What about if you attache micro USB cable with your TV or desktop?

nexusefr
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 12:11 am
languages_spoken: english spanish
ODROIDs: C1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by nexusefr » Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:54 am

@tobetter
I answer to your post ...
so...you mean your C1 worked showed a picture with the same cable and suddenly it doesn't with the same configuration you posted. Right?
YES
Even you tried Android, you haven't seen HK logo on your TV?
NO
Changing "vout_mode" to "dvi" doesn't help you at all?
NO, THAT OPTION IS NOT WORKING
What about if you attache micro USB cable with your TV or desktop?
I HAVE NOT TRIED THAT OPTION . SHOULD I SEE ?

thanks in advance

robrobinette
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:59 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID-U2
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by robrobinette » Thu Feb 12, 2015 10:34 pm

My C1 has the same problem as saamishon, after boot if I short the HDMI and USB shells I get an HDMI display. If the shells are connected during boot I get no display. I have tried two HDMI cables that work with other equipment. What is the solution to this problem? Order a special Odroid HDMI cable? RMA?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 30052
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by odroid » Thu Feb 12, 2015 11:43 pm

@robrobinette

There are many non-standard micro-HDMI cables in the market.
http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?f=80&t=3323
saamishon wrote:I got perfect display with no modifications(box piece) by using the HDMI cable supplied by hardkernel :)
I believe our cable can solve your issue.

BTW, please do not hijack.

robrobinette
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:59 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID-U2
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by robrobinette » Fri Feb 13, 2015 10:12 pm

BTW, please do not hijack.
Saying that I have the same, exact problem that's in the title of this thread is not a hijack in any way. It would actually be a breach of forum conduct to open a second, redundant thread when everything but the ultimate solution to the original problem has been detailed in this thread.

Both of the HDMI cables that do not work with the C1 have worked on my ODROID-U2. The C1 seems to have an engineering weakness related to its HDMI grounding scheme you may want to investigate.

Does the American ODROID distributor sell your cable?

rosimildo
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 8:05 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by rosimildo » Fri Feb 13, 2015 10:44 pm

From the posts, it is clear the C1 has a hdmi issue with grounding, and failing to ack it, will make it worse down the road.
The soon you ack the issue, and what are the workarounds until another spin of the board is made, the better for all users!

kauk
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:39 am
languages_spoken: en, de
ODROIDs: C1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by kauk » Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:51 am

phew, this hardware fix really worked for me!
thx for that @saamishon

I also had a black screen going higher than 720p on my yamaha rx-v473 receiver.
And even 720p then was gone when I switched the receiver inputs on my remote.
1080p only worked connected directly to samsung tv .. lacking the good audio.

edit:
I bought a new quality HDMI cable 3m by "deleyCON". Now it works in 1080p without hardware bridging the mass...

whatshisname
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:21 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: c1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by whatshisname » Sat Jul 04, 2015 1:57 am

saamishon wrote:I got perfect display with no modifications(box piece) by using the HDMI cable supplied by hardkernel :)
For the record, I bought the suggested cable from Ameridroid, micro hdmi to hdmi, connected to my Visio HDTV in the living room, tried all the grounding suggestions, plugging and unplugging the HDMI cable and I have nothing.
Last edited by whatshisname on Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

whatshisname
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:21 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: c1
Contact:

Re: No HDMI out, but serial console is working, need help

Unread post by whatshisname » Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:26 am

Since I'm as hard-headed as they come, after posting the above, I re-installed Arch when I noticed they had a new image. I'm back up and running on my Odroid C1. Yay! I think I may have had an error in my /etc/fstab file which somehow kept me from ssh'ing in. Who knows? But I've upgraded Arch and rebooted a couple of times and I have access again.

Still. Since there is always the need to log into a headless Odroid in case of a booting problem, I'm looking for a fool-proof way of getting to the console that doesn't involve using HDMI, it being so clearly fraught with problems. It appears a null modem cable is the answer to this. But I can't find any instructions on how to use one.

I've posted a new thread where I ask this question in case anyone finds themselves here and just want to get to a command line on a video-less Odroid to troubleshoot their installation.

http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?f=115&t=14651

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest