Page 1 of 1

Android 5.1 v1.4 Ethernet Issue

Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:34 pm
by fwardPOC
Since installation of the 5.1.1 v1.4 image the on board Ethernet is not reliable. I have only successfully received an IP address one time. After checking, and switching out cables, and ports to ensure no external issue was the problem I felt I should let you know. I also attempted to set a static address, and that did not work either. Please advise.

Update - I succeeded in setting up a static address, but this is a stop gap, and not an appropriate fix in a DHCP controlled environment.

Update 2 - issue remains with multiple devices. Device does not grab an IP address during boot, but able to assign static address. Bringing interface down and then back up via command line does not affect issue whatsoever.

Re: Android 5.1 v1.4 Ethernet Issue

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:25 pm
by odroid
Was there no Ethernet issue on Android 4.4?

Re: Android 5.1 v1.4 Ethernet Issue

Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 5:32 am
by fwardPOC
No, I reverted the install to 4.4 due to this fact. DHCP has always worked without fail prior to this update.

Re: Android 5.1 v1.4 Ethernet Issue

Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:00 am
by fwardPOC
Even with the last 5.1.1 updates DHCP addressing always functioned. It is not until this recent v1.4 release that there was any issue with that specific function.

Re: Android 5.1 v1.4 Ethernet Issue

Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:16 am
by odroid
We will check the DHCP functionality on the latest v1.4 image.

Re: Android 5.1 v1.4 Ethernet Issue

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 5:51 pm
by odroid
We couldn't reproduce the issue. DHCP works well on V1.4 image.

Can you capture the logcat and dmesg output in plan text format?

Re: Android 5.1 v1.4 Ethernet Issue

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 4:19 am
by fwardPOC
Sure, I will do a test install tonight, and get you the logs.

Update - In fact, I will go one further, and download the image again to ensure that the issue is not due to a possible undetected corruption in the file.

Re: Android 5.1 v1.4 Ethernet Issue

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 10:43 am
by rooted
I think your router log may give a hint, it has to be some software incompatibility between the two.

You said multiple devices have this issue, you mean multiple C1/0?

Re: Android 5.1 v1.4 Ethernet Issue

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 11:52 pm
by fwardPOC
The issue never occurred prior to the most recent update. This has nothing to do with the Cisco routers at my office. I have not yet been able to do the test in order to get the logcat files, but I will get it handled this week end.

Re: Android 5.1 v1.4 Ethernet Issue

Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:03 am
by rooted
fwardPOC wrote:The issue never occurred prior to the most recent update. This has nothing to do with the Cisco routers at my office. I have not yet been able to do the test in order to get the logcat files, but I will get it handled this week end.
How do you know it has nothing to do with the router? I was specifically talking about dhcpd and yes it could be on the router, or it could be the software on the C1 which I agree is more likely.

You didn't answer my question about multiple devices.

Re: Android 5.1 v1.4 Ethernet Issue

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:23 am
by fwardPOC
Because it is the ONLY image that had issues with routing. Simple deductive reasoning leads me to the fact that it was the image that caused the problem. I stopped using the image, and no more problems. I tested that image within another environment outside the office also, and I got the exact same results. Just to note, the image used for that test was a fresh download from the servers.

What else would I test a C1+ image on than multiple C1+ devices?

Re: Android 5.1 v1.4 Ethernet Issue

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:05 am
by rooted
fwardPOC wrote:Since installation of the 5.1.1 v1.4 image the on board Ethernet is not reliable.


Update 2 - issue remains with multiple devices. Device does not grab an IP address during boot, but able to assign static address. Bringing interface down and then back up via command line does not affect issue whatsoever.

fwardPOC wrote:Because it is the ONLY image that had issues with routing. Simple deductive reasoning leads me to the fact that it was the image that caused the problem. I stopped using the image, and no more problems. I tested that image within another environment outside the office also, and I got the exact same results. Just to note, the image used for that test was a fresh download from the servers.

What else would I test a C1+ image on than multiple C1+ devices?
You never said you were previously running a different version of Android.

You didn't state what type of "multiple devices", it could have been any type of device with networking. Most people don't have more than 1 C1.

You didn't even state it was on the C1+.

I was offering assistance based on the available information.