C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post Reply
mike42
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 3:14 am
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post by mike42 »

Hi

my C1+ was running since 02/2016 almost without issues. (only system freezes, solved with a reboot. Not a big deal.)
But today a reboot didn't solve my problem.
There is no HDMI output. Tried my TV and an old 22" TFT. Different cables.
And there is no network connection. (No ping or ssh)
Red LED is on, blue is blinking.
The RJ45 has a blinking orange light. No green LED, if there is one... Can't remember.
I already flashed an .img backup from march on a second SD card. No success.
An I flashed a new Ubuntu Minimal on a third SD card. No success.
Tried to ground the HDMI shield and MicroUSB shield. No success.

Any idea how to fix this?

Thank you.

Best regards,
Mike

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34947
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 960 times
Been thanked: 775 times
Contact:

Re: C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post by odroid »

Did you flash this latest minimal image with Etcher?
ubuntu-20.04-3.10-minimal-odroid-c1-20200519.img.xz

Can you access your C1+ via SSH over Ethernet connection?

mike42
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 3:14 am
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post by mike42 »

mike42 wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 3:35 am
No ping or ssh
Yes, I flashed this file: https://odroid.in/ubuntu_20.04lts/c0_c1 ... 519.img.xz
No improvement...

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34947
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 960 times
Been thanked: 775 times
Contact:

Re: C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post by odroid »

If the blue LED was flashing like heartbeat, the CPU on the board was alive at least.

Try this latest Mate image to make sure. That OS image is working fine on my C1+ board.
https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-c1/os_images/ubuntu/v4.0

mike42
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 3:14 am
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post by mike42 »

Didn't work.
This time I got a 1 second purple screen. But only 80% of the screen. Then black again and standby after some time.
So still no signal on HDMI and no ping or ssh.

Looks like a hardware problem. Anything I can check on the board?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34947
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 960 times
Been thanked: 775 times
Contact:

Re: C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post by odroid »

Measure voltage of 5.0V rail on the 40pin header if you have a DMM.
https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-c1/hardw ... connectors

It should be 4.8 volt at least.

mike42
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 3:14 am
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post by mike42 »

Voltages are looking good.
I measured pins 1,2,4,17 and 38 against pin 39 with 3.3V, 5V and 1.8V.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34947
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 960 times
Been thanked: 775 times
Contact:

Re: C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post by odroid »

I have run out of idea. :(
I think some portion in the SoC could be damaged.

BTW, if the orange LED of the RJ-45 jack does light, you have a 1Gbit connection over the Ethernet.
Can you find "ODROID" by a net scanning something like this https://www.hardkernel.com/blog-2/how-t ... -headless/?

mike42
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 3:14 am
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post by mike42 »

Sounds like there is no way to repair a damaged SoC?

Net scan was the first thing I tried. My ODROID normaly gets a fixed IP from the router.
I thought this failed and scanned my network. Couldn't find it.
If I plug in the network cable, the C1+ appears for a short time in the device list of the router. So there is something going on on the network. But nothing good :-|

I've read something about a serial connection, but couldn't find it in the Wiki. Is this a possible way to access the OS for further investigation?
I have a FTDI adapter (FT232RL) at home and some jumper wire cables. Does this work?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34947
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 960 times
Been thanked: 775 times
Contact:

Re: C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post by odroid »

If your FT232RL serial cable is compatible with 3.3Volt interface, you can use it with C1+ console connector.

Just connect Rx, Tx and GND three wires to the white 4pin connector on the C1+ board.
https://wiki.odroid.com/accessory/devel ... _connector

mike42
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 3:14 am
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post by mike42 »

A miracle has happened...
Long story short: My C1+ is working again and I have no clue why.

I bought a new one, because I didn't want to reinstall and reconfigure everything. This takes time and I want to watch the content of my media library in the meantime.
It arrived yesterday and I couldn't wait to pop in a cloned SD card. New board, old TFT... nothing happend... what the f***??? Same problems... Confusion...
Then I switched the HDMI to my amp (with TV connection) and oh wonder... I can see the login prompt. But still no ping.
The login worked and then I saw time and date. 2017... Changed that and here we go... Huston, we have a ping!
Quick thought: maybe this is working with my old board... No sooner said than done. Got a login prompt. Changed time and date. A working C1+... As if nothing had happened.

So, the reason for dead ssh and ping has been the wrong date. But why did the OS lose the current date?
And still no explanation for the dead HDMI on the amp/TV. Maybe because I had it powerless over night?
And a memo to myself: The C1+ is not working with my TFT.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34947
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 960 times
Been thanked: 775 times
Contact:

Re: C1+ no HDMI and no network

Post by odroid »

Do you use a RTC backup battery with your C1+?
If yes, measure the voltage level of the battery.

Otherwise, an NTP service didn't work by a uncertain wrong configuration and it caused the wrong date/time problem.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest