RoboPi now supports the ODROID-C1

Post Reply
mikronauts
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:28 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid-w, odroid c1
Location: Langley, BC, Canada
Contact:

RoboPi now supports the ODROID-C1

Unread post by mikronauts » Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:06 am

I thought y'all might like to know that Mikronauts advanced Robot controller board has now been qualified on the C1, and the ODROID-C1 is now a supported RoboPi platform.

Image

RoboPi stacks on top of the C1 and comes with C/C++ and Python interface libraries, 8 analog inputs, and 24 flexible digital I/O.

Each flexible digital I/O can be independently configured as a digital input, digital output, pwm output, servo output, or ultrasonic range sensor input. Additional functions will be added later.

For more information, please see http://RoboPi.com

Other currently supported RoboPi platforms are: Raspberry Pi Model A/A+/B/B+, Banana Pro/Pi, MIPS Creator CI20

See Elf for a simple bot based on RoboPi: http://www.mikronauts.com/robot-zoo/elf-2wd-pi-robot/
http://Mikronauts.com ... Home of RoboPi, Pi Rtc Dio, Pi Jumper, EZasPi

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: RoboPi now supports the ODROID-C1

Unread post by odroid » Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:09 pm

I've added this nice board in the list.
http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?f=115&t=8181

BTW, does it use only I2C and SPI?
I want to know how to communicate between C1 and the Parallax Propeller.

mikronauts
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:28 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid-w, odroid c1
Location: Langley, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: RoboPi now supports the ODROID-C1

Unread post by mikronauts » Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:31 pm

odroid wrote:I've added this nice board in the list.
http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?f=115&t=8181

BTW, does it use only I2C and SPI?
I want to know how to communicate between C1 and the Parallax Propeller.
Thank you :)

RoboPi normally communicates over the RX/TX pins on the GPIO header, currently at 115200bps.

For the ODROID-C1 unpack my RPi libraries and call RoboPiInit() with "/dev/ttyS2" instead of RPi's /dev/ttyAMA0"

I strongly suspect it would work with other ODROID's, by connecting 5V, GND, TX, RX and one I/O pin to reset the Prop.

I also use GPIO #17 (Broadcom number) pin 11 on the header as /RST for the prop.

I also tried my EZasPi and Pi Jumper products - both also work with the C1, but are labeled with Broadcom numbers. I have not tried my other products yet.

Will hardkernel be porting RPi.GPIO when time allows?

There are I2C slave objects for the Propeller, and I am considering adding the ability to control RoboPi using I2C in the future.
http://Mikronauts.com ... Home of RoboPi, Pi Rtc Dio, Pi Jumper, EZasPi

User avatar
Matt
Posts: 576
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:57 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: X2, U2, XU+E rev.2, Smart Power
Location: Charlottesville, VA, USA
Contact:

Re: RoboPi now supports the ODROID-C1

Unread post by Matt » Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:49 pm

mikronauts wrote:I strongly suspect it would work with other ODROID's, by connecting 5V, GND, TX, RX and one I/O pin to reset the Prop.
Does the RoboPi support 1.8V logic? So far, I think the C1 is the only ODROID board that uses 3.3V logic. The way I understand it, the rest of the ODROIDs use 1.8V logic.
ODROID Boards: U2, X2, XU+E rev.2
Accessories: VU, Smart Power, 13" LCD Kit (for the X2)

mikronauts
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:28 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid-w, odroid c1
Location: Langley, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: RoboPi now supports the ODROID-C1

Unread post by mikronauts » Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:41 pm

No, RoboPi uses 3.3V logic as the microcontroller on it, the P8X32A, runs at 3.3V

Thank you, I did not realize the rest of the ODROID's run at 1.8V! I'll have to get one to play with, the XU3-Lite looks very interesting. (Right now I only have W's and C1's)

I'll have to check, but I believe all that would be required would be a voltage divider on the RX line to divide down the 3.3V data from RoboPi to 1.8V, as I think 1v8 would be enough to drive the RoboPi's receive pin.
Matt wrote:
mikronauts wrote:I strongly suspect it would work with other ODROID's, by connecting 5V, GND, TX, RX and one I/O pin to reset the Prop.
Does the RoboPi support 1.8V logic? So far, I think the C1 is the only ODROID board that uses 3.3V logic. The way I understand it, the rest of the ODROIDs use 1.8V logic.
http://Mikronauts.com ... Home of RoboPi, Pi Rtc Dio, Pi Jumper, EZasPi

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware and peripherals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest