[HowTo] Disable GPU and run with just console and SSH

Moderators: mdrjr, odroid

[HowTo] Disable GPU and run with just console and SSH

Unread postby facotl » Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:28 pm

Hello,
I want to use my C1 in a RC car. I have no display on it so I want to limit power consumption. Does someone have any idea on this items ?

Disable GPU (probably in dts file) ?
Don't start X server ?
Don't reserve memory for GPU ?

Thank you for your help?
facotl
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:06 pm
languages_spoken: english, francais
ODROIDs: C1

Re: [HowTo] Disable GPU and run with just console and SSH

Unread postby odroid » Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:12 pm

You can disable the Xorg via odroid-utility.

You can also disable VPU/HDMI via editing the boot.ini file.
https://github.com/mdrjr/c1_bootini/blo ... r/boot.ini
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28610
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: [HowTo] Disable GPU and run with just console and SSH

Unread postby facotl » Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:58 pm

Thank you for your response.
facotl
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:06 pm
languages_spoken: english, francais
ODROIDs: C1

Re: [HowTo] Disable GPU and run with just console and SSH

Unread postby Guso » Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:16 am

I've a question about this one, I've already know that you point, and I've my rig without xorg, but if I put that 0 on HDMI my C1 doesn't start just red led and nothing else, I've to change that from another PC, am I doing something wrong?

Besides I'm on a headless setup, but I've DLNA on it and I may use VPU at some point in the near future maybe with gstreamer as I could read here, I still could use it without HDMI activated, right?
Guso
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:32 am
languages_spoken: english (alike), spanish
ODROIDs: C1

Re: [HowTo] Disable GPU and run with just console and SSH

Unread postby mdrjr » Mon Mar 30, 2015 1:17 pm

Putting 0 on boot.ini hdmi selection wouldn't cause a solid red led only..

At least blue would have to lit up.
mdrjr
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11686
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:34 pm
Location: Brazil
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: -

Re: [HowTo] Disable GPU and run with just console and SSH

Unread postby facotl » Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:58 pm

Sorry, i forgot this post for 2 years. Thank you for your help very^10 late.
facotl
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:06 pm
languages_spoken: english, francais
ODROIDs: C1


Return to Hardware and peripherals

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest