Using HK remote as a virtual mouse

Moderators: mdrjr, odroid

Using HK remote as a virtual mouse

Unread postby mad_ady » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:38 am

Is it possible to use the HK remote as a generic mouse in android? I'd like to use arrows to move a cursor around and buttons to simulate click events.
Any ideas if it can be done?
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 2750
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2

Re: Using HK remote as a virtual mouse

Unread postby tobetter » Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:46 pm

mad_ady wrote:Is it possible to use the HK remote as a generic mouse in android? I'd like to use arrows to move a cursor around and buttons to simulate click events.
Any ideas if it can be done?

Technically it's possible if the IR remote driver can be changed to report input mouse event instead of key events. I had made similar trial code before, thing was that how it's convenient to use due to the movement pitch per a click.
tobetter
 
Posts: 2081
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
Location: Kitchener, ON, Canada
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1

Re: Using HK remote as a virtual mouse

Unread postby mad_ady » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:40 pm

Thanks! So it wouldn't be practical...I'll look for other things then...
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 2750
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2

Re: Using HK remote as a virtual mouse

Unread postby mad_ady » Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:15 pm

I've just tried the official remote, and though it works pretty well with android, my app (an internet TV app) doesn't support key events, so I am unable to switch channels with a keyboard and I require a mouse...
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 2750
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2

Re: Using HK remote as a virtual mouse

Unread postby tobetter » Thu Nov 16, 2017 1:31 am

mad_ady wrote:I've just tried the official remote, and though it works pretty well with android, my app (an internet TV app) doesn't support key events, so I am unable to switch channels with a keyboard and I require a mouse...

Oh, I see...yeah...I am thinking to try the one again if I can find my previous patch. It might useful if remote can switch the mode among key input and cursor mode. :)
tobetter
 
Posts: 2081
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
Location: Kitchener, ON, Canada
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1


Return to Android

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests