TV overscan woe

Post Reply
vientito
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 1:35 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

TV overscan woe

Unread post by vientito » Sun Dec 06, 2015 9:43 am

My current Sony Bravia TV does not have any function to adjust the picture for its 720p HDMI input. Most of my surrounding pixels are stretched beyond the edge.

I come across this link to show the usage of xrandr to correct this problem by resorting to an option called transform

https://books.google.com.hk/books?id=Y5 ... 4Q6AEINjAD

However, it gives an error once I try it myself. It simply won't accept decimal number in its matrix elements for the scaling factors. Could someone shed some light on this?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 33055
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 304 times
Been thanked: 418 times
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by odroid » Sun Dec 06, 2015 4:29 pm

We are trying to implement the adjustable screen size for Ubuntu.
Please try the Android image which already support the programmable over-scan option and let us know the result.
http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?f=112&t=14343

dchang0
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:29 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, XU4Q
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by dchang0 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:31 am

I've got the same issue as the OP--here is more specific output:

odroid@odroid:~$ xrandr --query
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 2048 x 2048
LCD connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1920x1080 60.0*
odroid@odroid:~$ xrandr --output LCD --transform 1.05,0,-35,0,1.05,-19,0,0,1
X Error of failed request: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
Major opcode of failed request: 140 (RANDR)
Minor opcode of failed request: 26 (RRSetCrtcTransform)
Value in failed request: 0x3e
Serial number of failed request: 22
Current serial number in output stream: 23

dchang0
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:29 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, XU4Q
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by dchang0 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:34 am

Any number greater than 1 with two decimal places after the floating point seems to fail with the same error.

If I try 1.1 instead of 1.05:

odroid@odroid:~$ xrandr --output LCD --transform 1.1,0,-35,0,1.1,-19,0,0,1
xrandr: screen cannot be larger than 2048x2048 (desired size 2077x1169)

So I'm stuck for now. Please keep working on this problem. If it looks like it will never get fixed, please let us know that too. If I have to, I'll reluctantly get a Raspberry Pi 2 Model B (but they're so underpowered!)

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 33055
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 304 times
Been thanked: 418 times
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by odroid » Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:43 am

We are working on it and it may take a month to release the update.

Meanwhile, try our latest Android image to check the feasibility first.

dchang0
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:29 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, XU4Q
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by dchang0 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:46 am

Thanks!

One month is fine by me. Six months = not good. My project deadline will have passed.

I'll get back to you on the Android test.

dchang0
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:29 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, XU4Q
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by dchang0 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 1:13 pm

I confirm that Android 4.4.2 (v2.1) does handle overscan properly on my C1+ and Samsung SyncMaster 245T. It is handled very elegantly by the ODROID Utility.

Can't wait to see the fix for the official lubuntu image!

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 33055
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 304 times
Been thanked: 418 times
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by odroid » Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:14 pm

Thank you for the confirmation.
We are trying to release a new Ubuntu 15.10 image for XU3/XU4 these days and there is no spare resources at this moment.
Once we release it within a couple of weeks, we will focus on improving the C1 Kernel.

dchang0
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:29 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, XU4Q
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by dchang0 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:17 pm

That's fine by me--Ubuntu 15.10 is welcomed too!

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 33055
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 304 times
Been thanked: 418 times
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by odroid » Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:30 pm

I want to make it clearer.
We will skip 15.04 and 15.10 support for the C1/C1+ and make an image of 16.04 LTS in next Q2.
The main reason of 15.10 for the XU4 is the EOL of 15.04 in early next year.

dchang0
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:29 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, XU4Q
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by dchang0 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:33 pm

Ohhhh, I get it now. In that case, I still welcome the 15.10 support, although for the XU3/XU4 owners. We can still celebrate their good luck even if us C1+ owners will have to wait.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 33055
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 304 times
Been thanked: 418 times
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by odroid » Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:52 pm

Try below steps to enable the overscan works on the C1/C1+ Ubuntu.

1. Get and Set the overscan values of left, top, right and bottom with trial and error method

Code: Select all

root@odroid:~# cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/window_axis
window axis is [100 100 1919 1079]
root@odroid:~#

root@odroid:~# echo 100 100 1919 1079 > /sys/class/graphics/fb0/window_axis
root@odroid:~# echo 0x10001 > /sys/class/graphics/fb0/free_scale
2. Make a script(overscan.sh) as below with your left, top, right and bottom values.

Code: Select all

root@odroid:~# cat overscan.sh
#!/bin/bash

echo 100 100 1919 1079 > /sys/class/graphics/fb0/window_axis
echo 0x10001 > /sys/class/graphics/fb0/free_scale
root@odroid:~#
3. Add the script in the init.d for the auto start.

Code: Select all

root@odroid:~# cp overscan.sh /etc/init.d/ 
root@odroid:~# sudo update-rc.d overscan.sh defaults

dchang0
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:29 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, XU4Q
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by dchang0 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:03 pm

Good news!

Your suggestion worked--I only had to change the values a bit to get the full desktop to fit into my monitor (a Samsung SyncMaster 245T in HDMI 1920x1080p@60Hz mode--it can handle 1920x1200@60Hz in DVI mode but this resolution is not available to the HDMI input):

root@odroid:~# echo 100 25 1820 1045 > /sys/class/graphics/fb0/window_axis
root@odroid:~# echo 0x10001 > /sys/class/graphics/fb0/free_scale

I confirm that the two commands above fix my overscan problem completely. I also confirm that it survives a reboot via the /etc/init.d/overscan.sh script you provided.

To anyone else following--I am currently running a freshly-installed and fully-upgraded version of ubuntu-14.04.3lts-lubuntu-odroid-c1-20151020.img as of the date of this posting.

THANK YOU!
Last edited by dchang0 on Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 33055
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 304 times
Been thanked: 418 times
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by odroid » Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:05 pm

Thank you for the confirmation. :)

In fact, I forgot the pixel adjustment feature was already implemented in the Ubuntu Kernel too. :cry:

dchang0
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:29 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, XU4Q
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by dchang0 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:10 pm

No worries--better late than never!

It may be a good idea to post this helpful info somewhere more prominent (and nice and clean, in an official-looking note). I guess someday it will make it into the odroid-utility.sh as a menu-item.

Perhaps people can share their own findings on the exact values to work with certain models of monitor/TV. My bet is that the four numbers I found worked for me will only work for the Samsung 245T.

Thanks again--this is awesome news for our project!

You're going to laugh--this is the first time I have ever seen the taskbar at the bottom--wow, look at all the buttons and widgets!

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 33055
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 304 times
Been thanked: 418 times
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by odroid » Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:24 pm

I've added a link of this thread on our wiki page as a temporary workaround.
http://odroid.com/dokuwiki/doku.php?id= ... eripherals

We will consider a nice GUI app as we did on the Android.

dchang0
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:29 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, XU4Q
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by dchang0 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:26 pm

Very cool--the Android app is definitely awesome.

linuxgnuru
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:01 pm
languages_spoken: english,swahili
ODROIDs: XU4, C2, vu7+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by linuxgnuru » Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:03 pm

I don't suppose this would also work on the XU4 by any chance? Although on initial checking there is no window_axis in the /sys/class/graphics/fb0 directory so I'm betting it's not going to be easy if at all possible.

User avatar
XeoSal
Posts: 925
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 11:21 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2 & XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by XeoSal » Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:28 pm

linuxgnuru wrote:I don't suppose this would also work on the XU4 by any chance? Although on initial checking there is no window_axis in the /sys/class/graphics/fb0 directory so I'm betting it's not going to be easy if at all possible.
Yes, there is no over-scanning capability in the Exynos driver of the kernel.

ashes999
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 12:23 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: TV overscan woe

Unread post by ashes999 » Thu Jan 19, 2017 12:25 pm

Thanks for providing this. This also worked on my ODroid C2 Ubuntu Mate to fix my TV's overscan.

Post Reply

Return to “Ubuntu”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests