[Solved] Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Moderators: mdrjr, odroid

[Solved] Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby trn76 » Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:12 am

Odroid-C1 network issue, it seems like the C1 *might* have some issues with gigabit (slow network access).
My solution was to force the switch to auto-negotiate 10/100 (and drop 1000) so i got 100MBps connection, now Kodi (and all other networking issues) is much faster.
This is the Ubuntu release, Android not yet testet.
trn76
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:25 pm
languages_spoken: english, norwegian
ODROIDs: U3 U3 C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby tobetter » Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:13 am

trn76 wrote:Odroid-C1 network issue, it seems like the C1 *might* have some issues with gigabit (slow network access).
My solution was to force the switch to auto-negotiate 10/100 (and drop 1000) so i got 100MBps connection, now Kodi (and all other networking issues) is much faster.
This is the Ubuntu release, Android not yet testet.

What's the brand/model of your router/AP?
User avatar
tobetter
 
Posts: 2412
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
Location: Paju, South Korea
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby trn76 » Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:20 am

tobetter wrote:What's the brand/model of your router/AP?

Mikrotik CRS125-24G-1S-IN http://routerboard.com/CRS125-24G-1S-IN :mrgreen:
...could be compability problems, could be alot of stuff really, this was just a pointer in case people have issues.
trn76
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:25 pm
languages_spoken: english, norwegian
ODROIDs: U3 U3 C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby ppavone » Sat Jan 03, 2015 5:10 am

I may be having network issues too.
green ethernet light is blinking randomly, router says the port is connected at 100 MBPS but router does NOT report it's IP address in the table.
It's been running like this for 15 minutes with only "HK" splash screen.
is this normal?
ppavone
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:55 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby trn76 » Sat Jan 03, 2015 5:30 am

ppavone wrote:I may be having network issues too.
green ethernet light is blinking randomly, router says the port is connected at 100 MBPS but router does NOT report it's IP address in the table.
It's been running like this for 15 minutes with only "HK" splash screen.
is this normal?

No it's not normal.
Try booting without ethernet plugged, if it boot then you might know where to look.
trn76
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:25 pm
languages_spoken: english, norwegian
ODROIDs: U3 U3 C1

Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby ppavone » Sat Jan 03, 2015 5:48 am

same thing when I remove ethernet
I reinstalled image on SD card, and it comes up with cant access cache ...
Update: problem fixed. It was a bad image file.
ppavone
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:55 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby w0ss » Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:36 am

I actually have one of these switches(CRS125-24G-1S-IN). How were you testing this? I can try the same test on my C1's.
w0ss
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:07 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby tobetter » Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:20 pm

Hi Guys,

Anyone could try my uImage on your C1?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/fnzdht9zj0vzo ... e-NIC?dl=0

Please back up your uImage already in your C1 and rename my uImage-NIC to uImage.
Get back to me how it is still same.
User avatar
tobetter
 
Posts: 2412
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
Location: Paju, South Korea
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby mlinuxguy » Wed Jan 07, 2015 2:49 am

Tobetter,
I did some improvement to the amlogic network driver:
viewtopic.php?f=115&t=8121&p=63018#p63018

I would like to test your 100mb switch connect speed change. Could you point me to your change in the driver so I don't go about it differently than you did?
mlinuxguy
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:28 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: X, X2, XU, XU3, XU4, C1, C1+, C2, N1, USB-IO

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby trn76 » Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:26 am

w0ss wrote:I actually have one of these switches(CRS125-24G-1S-IN). How were you testing this? I can try the same test on my C1's.


in console, assuming i use eth01 as switch master, and eth09 as odroid port :
Code: Select all
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether9 ] advertise=\
    10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full comment="odroid u3" master-port=\
    ether01m name=ether09 speed=1Gbps

...no more troubles here!
trn76
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:25 pm
languages_spoken: english, norwegian
ODROIDs: U3 U3 C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby tobetter » Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:32 am

mlinuxguy wrote:Tobetter,
I did some improvement to the amlogic network driver:
viewtopic.php?f=115&t=8121&p=63018#p63018

I would like to test your 100mb switch connect speed change. Could you point me to your change in the driver so I don't go about it differently than you did?

Hi, did I change to fix 100MB switch connection problem? :o
I just reverted my commit below if to see some switch have a connection problem. If it does help to resolve connection problem, it will be reverted.
https://github.com/hardkernel/linux/com ... 13df28a0ab
User avatar
tobetter
 
Posts: 2412
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
Location: Paju, South Korea
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby mdrjr » Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:19 pm

Nope it isn't that commit...
mdrjr
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11690
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:34 pm
Location: Brazil
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: -

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby Demetris » Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:20 pm

I think i found something :)

https://github.com/hardkernel/linux/blo ... dio.c#L110

try this

Code: Select all
            if ((phydev->phy_id  == 0x001cc916)&& (addr == 0))
            {
               NULL;
            }else{
               priv->phy_addr = addr;
               phydev->irq = PHY_POLL;
               irqlist[addr] = PHY_POLL;
            }
         }
Demetris
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 6:29 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby mdrjr » Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:20 am

Nope :( tested here and it still crazy @ gigabit :(
mdrjr
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11690
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:34 pm
Location: Brazil
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: -

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby urmamasllama » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:08 pm

Anyone know how I can do this on android I'm currently working around the issue with a USB Ethernet adapter and I'd rather not have to only other option is to hook up another switch just for this thing
urmamasllama
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby Demetris » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:31 pm

mdrjr wrote:Nope :( tested here and it still crazy @ gigabit :(

https://github.com/hardkernel/linux/blo ... nal.c#L246

Code: Select all
   if (AUTONEG_ENABLE == phydev->autoneg){
      NULL;
   }
   else if (!phydev->link) {


Include my other fix too
https://github.com/hardkernel/linux/blo ... dio.c#L110

Also you could try pushing RTL8211F firmwares(latest) attached to /lib/firmware/rtl_nic
Attachments
RTL8168F-Firmware.zip
(2.65 KiB) Downloaded 134 times
Demetris
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 6:29 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby mdrjr » Fri Jan 09, 2015 7:56 pm

Nope.. still cuco :(

Also, we don't have any drivers that load firmware :(
mdrjr
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11690
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:34 pm
Location: Brazil
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: -

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby Demetris » Fri Jan 09, 2015 9:27 pm

mdrjr wrote:Nope.. still cuco :(

Also, we don't have any drivers that load firmware :(

Wait,,, what??
what
Code: Select all
sudo lshw |grep 8169
gives?
Demetris
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 6:29 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby mdrjr » Fri Jan 09, 2015 9:32 pm

returns nothing :)

You are mixing the MAC with the PHY.

MAC is Amlogic.
PHY is Realtek :)

8169 is a MAC not a PHY
mdrjr
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11690
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:34 pm
Location: Brazil
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: -

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby Demetris » Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:00 pm

Cant find anything faulty in the driver, other than that looks solid minus some spelling issues Amloigc Ethetnet support, LOL
I"ll keep looking but where is the nic firmware located, it is flashed on an eeprom?
Demetris
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 6:29 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby mdrjr » Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:02 pm

There's no firmware...
mdrjr
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11690
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:34 pm
Location: Brazil
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: -

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby mlinuxguy » Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:29 am

I personally don't think the driver is "solid" at best I can get 60mb/sec with my hacks.
It will be forever limited to that for the max given the way TX and RX are handled in the same tasklet. I would like to re-write it at a minimum for a RX and TX tasklet, then expand on that to separate RX and TX multiple queue's, the step after that would be to convert it to NAPI instead of tasklets.
mlinuxguy
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:28 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: X, X2, XU, XU3, XU4, C1, C1+, C2, N1, USB-IO

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby beatmag » Thu Jan 15, 2015 5:47 am

Any news on the testing?

What was the fix for gigabit?
beatmag
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:36 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby mdrjr » Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:40 am

The current gigabit issue has no fix yet :(
We are trying to understand it.

mlinuxguy patch's that are about to be merged are for improve the performance.
mdrjr
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11690
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:34 pm
Location: Brazil
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: -

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby beatmag » Thu Jan 15, 2015 4:41 pm

:(
Can we get realtek to help?

Do we know which switches show the problem?
Do we know whether the cables used was of high quality?

I had gigabit issues in the past with realtek adapters on desktop computer, and it was due to Cable Quality.
If re-negotiating the link sometimes brings it to Gigabit speeds. Then I would inspect the cable quality.
beatmag
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:36 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby MPPS » Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:17 pm

@beatmag
Do we know which switches show the problem?
Do we know whether the cables used was of high quality?

I had gigabit issues in the past with realtek adapters on desktop computer, and it was due to Cable Quality.
If re-negotiating the link sometimes brings it to Gigabit speeds. Then I would inspect the cable quality.


It is the easiest way to shift everything to others... "It works on my machine". I don't care about problems.
There is not only one user having these problems...
First find the real cause of this issue... and then see how to fix... You make customers really unhappy saying its not my fault it his fault... if you can easily fix it... do it...

BUT its the only machine I have, having this issue in my network and in the network of other users...

Odroid should work with most switches...

If it is a problem of cable quality... there are to many user having this problem... this board is not the only one having realtek chip, but is the only one have this problem for so many users...

I am really getting pissed off reading this... sorry... :twisted:

I want to see my odroid c1 running in my network... otherwise it will be replaced by BananaPi which was doing this job without any issues...
I thought odroid c1 would speed up tasks a bit and maybe I can replace two BPI's with one Odroid C1 (2 x 2Cores = 4 Cores) ;)

regards
mpps

PS:
At work I am responsible for product quality and test... there are so many developers shifting there failures to things like this... nobody likes to say, "yes I made a mistake"... I would say everyone who is really working makes mistakes from time to time...
That's the reason why we need to test our products, why we need to follow development rules...
Raspberry Pi as a toy for GPIO and Python
Radxa Rock as a linux desktop
Banana Pi as a NAS and backup storage
Odroid C1 as domain controller and AP
MPPS
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:54 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby NemoN » Thu Jan 15, 2015 9:28 pm

same problem here (workaround with mii-tool to force 100mbit).
NemoN
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:54 am
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: ODROID C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby rparavicini » Fri Jan 16, 2015 12:36 am

Have the same problem: video connected to the Odroid via USB plays without problem, same video via network (gigabit) needs to buffer every few seconds and takes 30 seconds to load

Will try the forced 100mbit "solution" to see if it solves my problem.

EDIT: yes, throttling the network to 100mbit solved my issues, everything works fine now
rparavicini
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 12:00 am
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: Odroid C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby MPPS » Fri Jan 16, 2015 4:09 pm

People already working on this issue...

see thread: viewtopic.php?f=115&t=8121&p=63018
Raspberry Pi as a toy for GPIO and Python
Radxa Rock as a linux desktop
Banana Pi as a NAS and backup storage
Odroid C1 as domain controller and AP
MPPS
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:54 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: C1

Solved: Rel 1.2: How to enable gigabit again in /etc/rc.loca

Unread postby Gerry » Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:39 pm

Likely solved.
Found the solution in another thread:
Code: Select all
ethtool -s eth0 speed 1000 duplex full


Correct ?

Hi all,

I had not that big problems with Gigabit LAN connected to a Zyxel 501 Switch. (260 MBit/s is ok for me)
So I would like to have gigabit enabled again.

In the release notes of V1.2, I found a remark that gigabit can be enabled in /etc/rc.local. But how ?
I have no idea what command to put into etc/rc.lcal

Can anybody help ?

Thx
Gerhard
Gerry
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:08 pm
languages_spoken: EN,DE
ODROIDs: C2

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby llamahunter » Sun Jan 25, 2015 5:07 am

Also seeing the ethernet network go up and down repeatedly. I've got a decent and relatively short cat 5e cable connecting it to my switch, which only supports 100Mbit, anyway. Kernel logs show the link going up and down every 5-30 seconds.

Jan 24 11:59:31 odroid kernel: [ 2047.080599@2] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
Jan 24 11:59:31 odroid kernel: [ 2047.080647@2] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Down
Jan 24 11:59:33 odroid kernel: [ 2049.080417@2] [adjust link -> eth: full-duplex
Jan 24 11:59:33 odroid kernel: [ 2049.080430@2] [adjust link -> eth: phy_speed <> priv_speed)
Jan 24 11:59:33 odroid kernel: [ 2049.080435@2] [adjust link -> eth: switching to RGMII 100
Jan 24 11:59:33 odroid kernel: [ 2049.080449@2] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
Jan 24 11:59:33 odroid kernel: [ 2049.080456@2] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Up - 100/Full
Jan 24 12:00:03 odroid kernel: [ 2079.080613@2] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
Jan 24 12:00:03 odroid kernel: [ 2079.080755@2] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Down
Jan 24 12:00:05 odroid kernel: [ 2081.080098@2] [adjust link -> eth: full-duplex
Jan 24 12:00:05 odroid kernel: [ 2081.080110@2] [adjust link -> eth: phy_speed <> priv_speed)
Jan 24 12:00:05 odroid kernel: [ 2081.080115@2] [adjust link -> eth: switching to RGMII 100
Jan 24 12:00:05 odroid kernel: [ 2081.080129@2] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
Jan 24 12:00:05 odroid kernel: [ 2081.080136@2] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Up - 100/Full
Jan 24 12:00:15 odroid kernel: [ 2091.080652@2] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
Jan 24 12:00:15 odroid kernel: [ 2091.080795@2] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Down
Jan 24 12:00:16 odroid kernel: [ 2092.079998@2] [adjust link -> eth: full-duplex
Jan 24 12:00:16 odroid kernel: [ 2092.080010@2] [adjust link -> eth: phy_speed <> priv_speed)
Jan 24 12:00:16 odroid kernel: [ 2092.080015@2] [adjust link -> eth: switching to RGMII 100
Jan 24 12:00:16 odroid kernel: [ 2092.080029@2] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
Jan 24 12:00:16 odroid kernel: [ 2092.080036@2] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Up - 100/Full
Jan 24 12:00:32 odroid kernel: [ 2108.080492@2] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
Jan 24 12:00:32 odroid kernel: [ 2108.080638@2] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Down
Jan 24 12:00:34 odroid kernel: [ 2110.079837@2] [adjust link -> eth: full-duplex
Jan 24 12:00:34 odroid kernel: [ 2110.079849@2] [adjust link -> eth: phy_speed <> priv_speed)
Jan 24 12:00:34 odroid kernel: [ 2110.079854@2] [adjust link -> eth: switching to RGMII 100
Jan 24 12:00:34 odroid kernel: [ 2110.079868@2] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
Jan 24 12:00:34 odroid kernel: [ 2110.079875@2] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Up - 100/Full
llamahunter
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 6:29 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby llamahunter » Sun Jan 25, 2015 6:08 am

Extra note, forcing the interface into 100Mbit mode via 'ethtool -s eth1 speed 100 duplex full' seems to have *not* stopped it from going up and down. Still unreliable.
llamahunter
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 6:29 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby llamahunter » Sun Jan 25, 2015 6:17 am

Another note... connecting through a true Linksys gigabit hub (rather than the 100Mbps hub built into my D-Link DIR-615) seems to have made things stable, even at 1000Mbps. Perhaps the kernel driver or hardware device in the C1 is very finicky about wire protocol? Unfortunate that I have to dedicate a hub just to talk to the C1.
llamahunter
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 6:29 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1

Information only: No problems with ZYXEL GE 105 V1 switch

Unread postby Gerry » Sun Jan 25, 2015 8:45 pm

Just information : No problem with a ZYXEL GE 105 Desktop Switch. Stable 1000Mb connection with 300Mbit iperf rate in both directions.
Sorry, no information available what chipset is inside.
Gerry
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:08 pm
languages_spoken: EN,DE
ODROIDs: C2

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby Nod51 » Fri Jan 30, 2015 11:33 am

I have the reconnecting problem too, ubuntu-14.04.1lts-lubuntu-odroid-c1-20150120, Buffalo gigabit router. I will see if I can find a switch someplace till it is fixed.

[ 637.677668@0] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
[ 637.677812@0] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Down
[ 638.677819@0] [adjust link -> eth: full-duplex
[ 638.677940@0] [adjust link -> eth: phy_speed <> priv_speed)
[ 638.678017@0] [adjust link -> eth: switching to RGMII 100
[ 638.678155@0] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
[ 638.678251@0] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Up - 100/Full
[ 1112.674110@0] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
[ 1112.674257@0] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Down
[ 1113.674062@0] [adjust link -> eth: full-duplex
[ 1113.674183@0] [adjust link -> eth: phy_speed <> priv_speed)
[ 1113.674257@0] [adjust link -> eth: switching to RGMII 100
[ 1113.674397@0] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
[ 1113.674495@0] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Up - 100/Full
[ 2327.665916@0] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
[ 2327.666060@0] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Down
[ 2329.665858@0] [adjust link -> eth: full-duplex
[ 2329.665978@0] [adjust link -> eth: phy_speed <> priv_speed)
[ 2329.666052@0] [adjust link -> eth: switching to RGMII 100
[ 2329.666192@0] [adjust link -> eth: am_adjust_link state change (new_state=true)
[ 2329.666288@0] libphy: 0:01 - Link is Up - 100/Full
Nod51
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 3:55 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby mdrjr » Fri Jan 30, 2015 11:38 am

Updating the kernel fixes it.
mdrjr
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11690
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:34 pm
Location: Brazil
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: -

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby Nod51 » Fri Jan 30, 2015 12:21 pm

linux-image-3.10.66-46, so far so good, no reconnects. Thanks for the great support!
Nod51
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 3:55 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1

Re: Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby Nod51 » Sun Feb 01, 2015 1:48 am

Confirmed fixed, no disconnects for at least 24 hours.
Nod51
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 3:55 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1

Re: [Solved] Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby bluesman13 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:03 pm

Hello,
I have the same problem with the driver ethernet network.
I use the special version "Minimal Debian Wheezy" developed by TomB (viewtopic.php?f=114&t=8084).
Could you explain me what to do to integrate to Git Repository the correction you found : Updating the kernel "linux-image-3.10.66-46" fixes it !
In advance, thank you.
Ricardo.
bluesman13
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 11:15 pm
languages_spoken: french, english
ODROIDs: odroid-c1

Re: [Solved] Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby TomB » Thu Feb 05, 2015 1:18 am

bluesman13 wrote:Could you explain me what to do to integrate to Git Repository the correction you found : Updating the kernel "linux-image-3.10.66-46" fixes it !
In advance, thank you.

My scripts automatically clone the kernel repository at HEAD, so when you build the image it will include hardkernel's latest kernel. However, it only clones if the linux folder does not exist, it will *not* do a git pull if the folder already exists. You can simply do make distclean && make and that should clone the latest again.
TomB
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:32 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID-C1

Re: [Solved] Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby Shonk » Tue May 05, 2015 1:06 am

Not Solved!

I picked up two full sets of C1's yesterday from the uk distributor £131 total $200 US

and did a fair bit of reading before buying everything, I read the problems where with atheros based switches

guess what thats bs

I only ordered them due to them having gigabit ethernet if gigabit isnt working its of no use to me

I have a Zyxel GS1900E 24 Port Managed Switch chipset Realtek RTL8382M

I have been getting stuttering and buffering problems with the C1 on Ubuntu and openelec

sd content does it once in a while
hd content eg.g blu-ray's ripped to mkv's do it constantly

Forcing the 100mbit at the switch end fully fixed this

The C1 comes with a Realtek RTL8211F that is a perfect match chipset wise to my RTL8382M Switch

so there's clearly a big problem somewhere


prices soon add up if you want a complete unit..
and it isnt a case of wastng just $35


HardKernel ODroid-C1 2 £34.50 £69.00
Odroid HDMI - Micro HDMI Cable (Type A - Type D) 2 £6.09 £12.18
Odroid USB-DC Plug Cable 2.5x0.8mm 2 £2.34 £4.67
Odroid IR Remote Controller 2 £5.15 £10.30
Odroid Heatsink 2 £4.21 £8.42
Odroid RTC Backup Battery 2 £2.34 £4.67
Odroid C1 Case 2 £5.15 £10.30
Sub-Total: £99.62
UK Shipping Zone (Weight: 3,102.00g): £8.94
VAT (20%) UK: £21.71
Total: £130.27 (200 US Dollars)

Not happy with this in the slightest
hardkernel should have fixed this months ago
Shonk
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english

Re: [Solved] Odroid-C1 network issue (and solution)

Unread postby odroid » Tue May 05, 2015 12:20 pm

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28741
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID


Return to General Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests